The following are all resources available at the Fullerton College Library through the Library Catalog.
How to find reference, print, and eBooks in the Library Book Catalog:
If you need personalized assistance with your research, you may schedule an appointment with a librarian. Go to Book a Librarian! and request a meeting to get one-on-one help with your research.
Fullerton College Library Hardcopy Periodicals (2nd Floor)
Shelved in alphabetical order and located to the right of the help desk.
GQ—Gentlemen’s Quarterly
Magazine: 1/2006 +, EBSCOhost: 7/1989 +, NexisUni full-text: 7/2008 +
Harper’s Bazaar
Magazine: 1/2006 +, EBSCOhost: 1/1989 +, EBSCOhost full-text: 6/1999 +
Sew News
Magazine: [8/1995 – 2/2008]
Threads Magazine
Magazine: [8/1986 – 3/2010]
Vogue
Magazine: [7/1930 – 12/1976] 1/2000 +, EBSCOhost: 1/1984 +, NexisUni full-text: 6/2004 +
A resource for fashion trend information.
Wall Street Journal. New York: Dow Jones. 1959-. Daily (ISSN: 0099-9660).
Newspaper: Current + 1 year, Microfilm: 1/1990 - 12/1997, NexisUni: 5/1973 +
Reference books include works such as specialized encyclopedias, atlases, and dictionaries. They are excellent places to start your search. You can:
Use the Library Catalog to locate print books, reserve books, and reference books.
Note: Print Reference Books on the 1st Floor cannot be checked out of the library.
REF GT605 .E35 2015 Ethnic Dress in the United States: A Cultural Encyclopedia / edited by Annette Lynch and Mitchell D. Strauss. 2015
Overside REF GT2290 LH265 2010 Hairstyles: Ancient to Present / edited by Charlotte Fiell. 2010
Blanco, José F. Clothing and Fashion. American Fashion from Head to Toe. 4 Vols. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, Inc. Print.
GT605 .C555 2016 Reference collection - 1st floor
Calasibetta, Charlotte Mankey, and Phyllis G. Tortora. The Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion. New York: Fairchild Publications, 1998. Print.
TT503 .C34 1988 Reference collection - 1st floor
This dictionary defines the terminology of historical and contemporary clothing, invaluable for ensuring that terms are used consistently throughout the textile and clothing disciplines. It also includes manufacturing, merchandising, and distribution terms, and the styles and parts of accessories and apparel items. Pronunciation of foreign terms and an appendix of designers and fashion leaders are included.
Edwards, Clive. The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2016. Print.
NK1165 .B59 2016 Reference collection - 1st floor
Jerde, Judith. Encyclopedia of Textiles. New York: Facts on File, 1992. (ISBN: 978-0-8160-2105-5). Print.
TS1309 .J47 1992 Reference collection - 1st floor
Defines technical terms related to fabrics, including types of fabrics, textile history, and production and construction methods. The cross-references between entries facilitate research.
Racinet, A. The Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, 1988. (ISBN: 978-0-8160-1976-2). Print.
GT510 .R3313 1988 Oversize Reference collection - 1st floor
This work condenses Racinet's classic six-volume set, History of World Costume (1876-1888), and translates it into English for the first time. The text and 2,000 illustrations, most in full color, cover worldwide costumes from ancient Egypt to nineteenth-century Europe--royalty, the working class, soldiers, and the poor.
Schoeffler, O. E., and William Gale. Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1973. (ISBN: 978-0-07-055480-1). Print.
TT617 .S36 Reference collection - 1st floor
This detailed, well-written, and well-indexed work provides one of the few works of scholarship on twentieth century menswear.
Fashion books in this category are usually marked “Books 2nd floor” or “Oversize 2nd floor”, but can also include “New Books” and “Bestsellers”. Circulating books can be checked out for two weeks, unless otherwise noted on the book, and may be renewed twice. For more information on library policies, please see Borrowing.
Oversize GT510.B6713 20,000 Years of Fashion: the History of Costume and Personal Adornment / Francois Boucher
Oversize PN1995.9 C56 L36 2007 Dressed: A Century of Hollywood Costume Design / Deborah Nadoolman Landis. 2007
TT515 .K45 2013 Fashion Design, Referenced: A Visual Guide to the History, Language & Practice of Fashion / Alicia Kennedy & Emily Banis Stoehrer with Jay Calderin. 2013
On your Library Catalog results list, you may see Electronic Books (eBooks) on the same results list for printed books in the library. Electronic books are listed in the Library Catalog, but these titles are actually part of a subscription database, EBSCOhost (eBook Collection) or Springer eBook Collection.
How to access EBSCOhost:
Reserve Books are materials that instructors have put in the library for student use. They are located behind the Reserve counter on the 1st floor. There are many books on fashion and historical costumes that can be checked out for short-term loan, usually for two hours or overnight.
Though some of the books listed below were published in the 20th century, each is a valuable tool for apparel and textile design students who conduct research using a well-balanced academic library textiles and clothing collection. These titles offer students and instructors depth and breadth in research resources.
Boucher, François, and Yvonne Deslandres. 20,000 Years of Fashion: The History of Costume and Personal Adornment. New York: H.N. Abrams, 1987. (ISBN: 978-0-8109-1693-7). Print.
GT510 .B6713 1987 Oversize collection - 2nd floor
Based primarily on artwork, Boucher’s costume history depicts the fashions of the European elite from prehistory to the mid-twentieth century. The text summarizes the evolution of costume within the Western world and offers useful background to students of costume history.
Fletcher, Kate, and Mathilda Tham. Routledge Handbook of Sustainability and Fashion, 2016. Print.
On order. Speak with a librarian to rush process the book.
Griffiths, Danielle. Fashion Stylist's Handbook, 2016. Internet resource.
Permalink: http://ezproxy.fcclib.nocccd.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1457031&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Kadolph, Sara J. Textiles. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2007. (ISBN: 978-0-13-118769-6). Print.
TS1446 .K33 2007 General collection - 2nd floor
Textiles has become a standard textbook for textile science classes. Using language that is simple but not simplistic, Kadolph introduces readers to issues of textile production, chemistry, testing, and care. Textiles provides a necessary foundation in textile science for all textile and clothing researchers.
Kawamura, Yuniya. Sneakers. Bloomsbury, 2016. Print.
On order. Speak with a librarian to rush process the book.
Kidwell, Claudia and Margaret Christmas. Suiting Everyone: The Democratization of Clothing in America. Washington: Published for the National Museum of History and Technology by the Smithsonian Institution Press; [for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off.], 1974. Print.
TT497 .K44 Oversize collection - 2nd floor
Appropriate for Fullerton College students’ research, this title relays the history of development of prêt-à-porter as an American industry. Margaret Christman and Claudia Kidwell explore the rise of affordable ready-made clothing with a mainstream look.
Martin, Tracy. The Bare Essentials: A Passion for Lingerie, 2015. Print.
TT670 .M3 2015 General collection - 2nd floor
Moore, Jennifer G. Fashion Fads Through American History: Fitting Clothes into Context, 2017. Print.
GT605 .M66 2016 General collection - 2nd floor
Payne, Blanche, Geitel Winakor, and Jane Farrell-Beck. The History of Costume: From Ancient Mesopotamia through the Twentieth Century. New York, NY: HarperCollins, 1965. Print.
GT510 .P35 General collection - 2nd floor
Presents the fashions of social elites from the Middle East and Western Europe from prehistory through the 1990s. The text draws on artwork, extant garments, and costume history scholarship to create a narrative that is simple enough for easy reference, but provides enough detail to be a useful beginning for costume historians. This book would also serve well as a reference for theatrical costuming.
Steele, Valerie. Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion. Scribner Library of Daily Life. Farmington Hills, MI: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. (ISBN 978-0-684-31394-8). Print and Internet resource.
GT507 .E53 2005 Reference collection - 1st floor
Permalink: http://link.galegroup.com.ezproxy.fcclib.nocccd.edu/apps/pub/9780684314518/GVRL?u=full44847&sid=GVRL.
A well-researched encyclopedia of textile and costume terminology, with citations for further research. Steele and 325 contributors have produced a thorough and interesting reference to costume and the fashion industry.
Stegemeyer, Anne. Who's Who in Fashion. New York: Fairchild Publications, 1998. (ISBN: 978-1-56367-247-7). Print.
TT505.A1 S74 1988 General collection - 2nd floor
This volume profiles significant twentieth-century fashion designers, photographers, and illustrators, providing biographies of the historic movers and shakers of the fashion world.
Tortora, Phyllis G., and Keith Eubank. Survey of Historic Costume: A History of Western Dress. New York: Fairchild Publications, 2004. (ISBN: 978-1563673450). Print.
GT580 .T67 2005 Reference collection - 1st floor
Often utilized as a costume history textbook, this book provides an excellent introduction to the history of western fashion from the ancient Middle East to the early 21st century.
Wilcox, R. Turner. The Dictionary of Costume. London: B.T. Batsford, 1992. (ISBN: 978-0713462777). Print.
GT507 .W5 Reference collection - 1st floor
A dictionary of costume illustrated with plentiful, clear line drawings. Wilcox’ works are classics of costume and fashion studies. Also recommended are her The Mode In Costume (General collection - 2nd floor: GT510 .W55), The Mode in Hats and Headdress (General collection - 2nd floor: GT2110 .W5), and Five Centuries of American Costume (General collection - 2nd floor: GT605 .W5).
Yarwood, Doreen. The Encyclopedia of World Costume. New York: Bonanza Books, 1987. (ISBN: 978-0-517-61943-8). Print.
GT507 .Y37 Reference collection - 1st floor
Illustrated with black-and-white drawings, Yarwood's encyclopedia provides an introduction to the range of world costume.
Zeisler, Andi. We Were Feminists Once: From Riot Grrrl to Covergirl®, the Buying and Selling of a Political Movement, 2017. Print.
HQ1421 .Z46 2016 General collection - 2nd floor