Good day, students,

Fullerton College Library is available 24/7 online. In fact, the majority of our library books and periodicals are online resources. Faculty librarians select resources to support students on and off campus, including materials such as:

1) eBooks (over 160,000, available off campus); and

2) Databases that provide students with access to: primary sources, periodicals (e.g., journals, magazines, newspapers, trade publications), legal resources, historic newspapers, and more.

Students may chat with a librarian to receive virtual reference assistance. The library website offers sections such as: “Research Tips & Tricks,” featuring several pages dedicated to: 1) The research process; 2) Resource eval; and 3) Citation of sources in APA style (NoodleBib). The library website offer users both: 1) Video clips regarding the research process, and 2) Links to other Internet resources. Students may e-mail reference queries to the librarians (librarian@fullcoll.edu). Emails are generally answered within one or two business days. Via EBSCO, the library offers students access to more than thirty databases. The EBSCO databases represent the most heavily-utilized digital resources offered by Fullerton College Library. Within EBSCO is the Military & Government Collection, a database with content that relates to all branches of the military. Another EBSCOhost offering, the multidisciplinary database, MasterFILE Complete, is popular with students. FC’s EBSCO databases each rack up an average of over 300,000 search hits annually. Are you using EBSCOhost databases? Your fellow students are! Another library database, JSTOR, is popular among Fullerton College instructors and student researchers, as JSTOR primarily makes available peer-reviewed resources.

Looking for general information, such as the information available via encyclopedias? A popular Fullerton College Library general reference database is CQ Researcher. Another reference resource, Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context, includes images, primary sources, opinion pieces, audio from National Public Radio, and more! Gale Virtual Reference Library is an additional reference resource that the library makes available to students. Students may or may not be permitted by instructors to cite general resources, such as general encyclopedias.

LexisNexis is a legal, business, and international/national/local newspaper database that the library maintains to support the accreditation of the paralegal program. The library subscribes to Science Online/AAAS, at the request of science instructors.

Students may search for and access periodicals (e.g., magazines, newspaper, journals), books, and other sources in electronic format via: 1) The myGateway “Fullerton” tab; and 2) the library website: http://library.fullcoll.edu/databases. (Users select a database, then log in with student ID number [or staff ID number] and last name.)

P.S.: Here are more tricks & tips:

Exploring Campus & Other Resources

• Go to Library Research Page: http://library.fullcoll.edu/research/how-to-research/exploring-topics-for-research/.)
• Read the entire page. Watch the embedded video: https://youtu.be/jSHXb83Xtsk.
• Watch the Prezi to which there is a link at the page bottom. (The Prezi is also here: https://prezi.com/5czjryofqsro/developing-a-research-question/#.)  
• Check out the Fullerton College Math Lab website: http://math.fullcoll.edu/mathlab-policies.html.
• Explore the Fullerton College Writing Center website: http://writingcenter.fullcoll.edu/tutoring.html.
• Read the info available via the FC Tutoring Center website: https://academicsupport.fullcoll.edu/online-tutoring/.
• Visit the Fullerton College Skills Center website: http://skills.fullcoll.edu/services.html.