LibGuides: Resources: Everything Queer!: LGBTQIA2S+ Database, Links, e-Reads, Video, &amp; Audio

LGBTQ+ Database

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.

Links to Resources

Human Rights Campaign: Glossary of Terms
The Trevor Project
Queer Book Club Zoom Link
If this link no longer works, please check the library's Instagram page (fullerton college library is the handle)
Queer Social Hour Zoom Link
This may change. If it doesn't work, check the Instagram page: fullcolllgbtqia
FC Gender-Inclusive Restroom Map
FC LGBTQIA2S+ Info
Enroll in NOCCCD Queer Advocates Canvas Group
Suicide Prevention Lifeline
GLSEN Supporting Trans and GNC Students
PFLAG Nonbinary Resources
OC LGBTQ Center • Instagram
Name Change Form | NOCCCD Admissions and Records
Guide to LGBTQIA+ Campgrounds & Camping (A Student-Recommended Resource for this List)

LGBTQIA2s+ Video Content via Kanopy, Swank, & Films on Demand

In Kanopy or Swank, library film databases:

The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994)

Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart: The Life and Work of a Treasured American Playwright

The Watermelon Woman

Call Her Ganda: Fighting for Justice After the Murder of a Filipina Transgender Woman

A Place of Rage: African American Women who Revolutionized Society

Paris is Burning

In Swank, a library film database:

Moonlight

Via YouTube:

Screaming Queens: The Riot at Compton's Cafeteria

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more.

*Not included in OneSearch

Snapshot

Films on Demand Video: Totally F***ed Up
Totally F***ed Up
A group of gay and lesbian teen characters address the camera directly in this pseudo-documentary about the travails of queer adolescence in early-'90s Los Angeles.
Official Selection at the Toronto International Film Festival and the New York Film Festival.
Warning: This film contains graphic sexual content and may be upsetting and/or offensive to some viewers.

Search "LGB" in Films on Demand for thousands of results

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of feature films from major Hollywood studios. Provides streaming access to over 250 commercial feature-length motion pictures from mostly U.S-based studios. Swank is the world's largest non-theatrical distributor of motion pictures for public performance, providing licensed access to films from MGM, Sony, Paramount, LionsGate, United Artists, Miramax and more.

*Not included in OneSearch

Queer Book Group Reading Options

Dykes to Watch Out For (Free e-Comic Strip)
LGBTQ+ comic strip
O Human Star (Free e-Graphic Novel)
Free LGBTQ graphic novel

On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden
Call Number: PN6727.W266 O6
ISBN: 9781250178145
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
READ "On a Sunbeam" for FREE online: https://www.onasunbeam.com/

"Tillie Walden is the future of comics, andOn a Sunbeamis her best work yet. It's a 'space' story unlike any you've ever read, with a rich, lived-in universe of complex characters." --Brian K. Vaughan,Saga andPaper Girls Two timelines. Second chances. One love. A ragtag crew travels to the deepest reaches of space, rebuilding beautiful, broken structures to piece the past together. Two girls meet in boarding school and fall deeply in love--only to learn the pain of loss. With interwoven timelines and stunning art, award-winning graphic novelist Tillie Walden creates an inventive world, breathtaking romance, and an epic quest for love. LA Times Festival of Books 2018 Book Prize Winner, Graphic Novel/Comics APublisher's WeeklyBest Book of 2018 One ofThe Washington Post's "10 Best Graphic Novels of 2018" ASchool Library JournalBest Book of 2018 A YALSA Top Ten Great Graphic Novel A 2019 Hugo Award Nominee, Best Graphic Story A Harvey Award Nominee, Book of the Year A Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children's or Young Adult Book

‘Holidays on Ice’ by David Sedaris (Free via EBSCO)
Link to EBSCO HTML document
"Holidays on Ice" by David Sedaris (Free via NY Times)
Link to NY Times
Santaland Diaries (Free Audio [Read by David Sedaris on NPR])
A great listen!
Grease Bats
A comic that a queer book club member recommended! : )

Queering the Redneck Riviera : Sexuality and the Rise of Florida Tourism (eBook) by Jerry T. Watkins
ISBN: 9780813056913
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
Queering the Redneck Riviera recovers the forgotten and erased history of gay men and lesbians in North Florida, a region often overlooked in the story of the LGBTQ experience in the United States. Jerry Watkins reveals both the challenges these men and women faced in the years following World War II and the essential role they played in making the Emerald Coast a major tourist destination.In a state dedicated to selling an image of itself as a ?family-friendly? tropical paradise and in an era of increasing moral panic and repression, queer people were forced to negotiate their identities and their places in society. Watkins re-creates queer life during this period, drawing from sources including newspaper articles, advertising and public relations campaigns, oral history accounts, government documents, and interrogation transcripts from the state?s Johns Committee.He discovers that postwar improvements in transportation infrastructure made it easier for queer people to reach safe spaces to socialize. He uncovers stories of gay and lesbian beach parties, bars, and friendship networks that spanned the South. The book also includes rare photos from the Emma Jones Society, a Pensacola-based group that boldly hosted gatherings and conventions in public places.Illuminating a community that boosted Florida?s emerging tourist economy and helped establish a visible LGBTQ presence in the Sunshine State, Watkins offers new insights about the relationships between sexuality, capitalism, and conservative morality in the second half of the twentieth century.
The Queer Fantasies of the American Family Sitcom (eBook) by Tison Pugh
ISBN: 9780813591728
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
The book examines how queerness, at first latent, became a vibrant yet continually conflicted part of the family-sitcom tradition. Taking into account elements such as the casting of child actors, the use of and experimentation with plot traditions, the contradictory interpretive valences of comedy, and the subtle subversions of moral standards by writers and directors, Pugh points out how innocence and sexuality conflict on television. As older sitcoms often sit on a pedestal of nostalgia as representative of the Golden Age of the American Family, television history reveals a deeper, queerer vision of family bonds.
Queer Tracks: Subversive Strategies in Rock and Pop Music (eBook) by Doris Leibetseder
ISBN: 9781409437024
Queer Tracks describes motifs in popular music that deviate from heterosexual orientation, the binary gender system and fixed identities. This exciting cutting-edge work deals with the key concepts of current gender politics and queer theory in rock and pop music, including irony, parody, camp, mask/masquerade, mimesis/mimicry, cyborg, transsexuality, and dildo. Based on a constructivist concept of gender, Leibetseder asks:'Which queer-feminist strategies are used in rock and pop music?''How do they function?''Where do they occur?'Leibetseder's methodological process is to discover subversive strategies in queer theory, which are also used in rock and pop music, without assuming that these tactics were first invented in theory.
Is gender fluid? : a primer for the 21st century (Hardcopy Book) by Sally Hines; Matthew Taylor
Call Number: General Collection - 2nd Floor HQ1075 .H56 2018
ISBN: 0500293686
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
The Big Idea shortlisted for series design in the British Design and Production Awards When we are born, we are each assigned a gender based on our physical anatomy. But why is it that some people experience such dissonance between their biological sex and their inner identity? Is gender something we are or something we do? Is our expression of gender inborn or does it develop as we grow? Are the traditional binary male and female gender roles relevant in an increasingly fluid and flexible world? This intelligent, stimulating volume assesses the connections between gender, psychology, culture and sexuality, and reveals how individual and social attitudes have evolved over the centuries.
Becoming : Genre, Queerness, and Transformation in NBC’s Hannibal (2019 eBook) by Kavita Mudan Finn (Editor); E. J. Nielsen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780815636366
Publication Date: 2019-08-30
"The NBC series Hannibal has garnered both critical and fan acclaim for its cinematic qualities, its complex characters, and its innovative reworking of Thomas Harris's mythology so well-known from Jonathan Demme's Silence of the Lambs (1991) and its variants. The series concluded late in 2015 after three seasons, despite widespread fan support for its continuation. While there is a healthy body of scholarship on Harris's novels and Demme's film adaptation, little critical attention has been paid to this newest iteration of the character and narrative. Hannibal builds on the serial killer narratives of popular procedurals, while taking them in a drastically different direction. Like critically acclaimed series such as Breaking Bad and The Sopranos, it makes its viewers complicit in the actions of a deeply problematic individual and, in the case of Hannibal, forces them to confront that complicity through the character of Will Graham. The essays in Becoming explore these questions of authorship and audience response as well as the show's themes of horror, gore, cannibalism, queerness, and transformation. Contributors also address Hannibal's distinctive visual, auditory, and narrative style. Concluding with a compelling interview with series writer Nick Antosca, this volume will both entertain and educate scholars and fans of Hannibal and its many iterations."
Gender Queer: a Memoir (2020, print book) by Maia Kobabe
Call Number: 2nd fl PN6727.K655 G46 2020
ISBN: 9781549304002
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
2020 ALA Alex Award Winner 2020 Stonewall -- Israel Fishman Non-fiction Award Honor Book In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates, friends, and humans everywhere. "It's also a great resource for those who identify as nonbinary or asexual as well as for those who know someone who identifies that way and wish to better understand." -- SLJ (starred review)
Real Queer America: LGBTQ Stories From Red States by Samantha Allen LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST A transgender reporter's "powerful, profoundly moving" narrative tour through the surprisingly vibrant queer communities sprouting up in red states (New York Times Book Review), offering a vision of a stronger, more humane America. Ten years ago, Samantha Allen was a suit-and-tie-wearing Mormon missionary. Now she's a GLAAD Award-winning journalist happily married to another woman. A lot in her life has changed, but what hasn't changed is her deep love of Red State America, and of queer people who stay in so-called "flyover country" rather than moving to the liberal coasts. In Real Queer America, Allen takes us on a cross-country road-trip stretching all the way from Provo, Utah to the Rio Grande Valley to the Bible Belt to the Deep South. Her motto for the trip: "Something gay every day." Making pit stops at drag shows, political rallies, and hubs of queer life across the heartland, she introduces us to scores of extraordinary LGBT people working for change, from the first openly transgender mayor in Texas history to the manager of the only queer night club in Bloomington, Indiana, and many more. Capturing profound cultural shifts underway in unexpected places and revealing a national network of chosen family fighting for a better world, Real Queer America is a treasure trove of uplifting stories and a much-needed source of hope and inspiration in these divided times.
Call Number: General Collection – 2nd Floor ; HQ73.3.U6 A44 2019
Queer and Trans Migrations by Eithne Luibheid (Editor, Contribution by) et al.
Call Number: 2nd Floor ; JV6346.5 .Q44 2020
ISBN: 0252052196
Publication Date: 2020-10-26
More than a quarter of a million LGBTQ-identified migrants in the United States lack documentation and constantly risk detention and deportation. LGBTQ migrants around the world endure similarly precarious situations. Eithne Luibhéid's and Karma R. Chávez's edited collection provides a first-of-its-kind look at LGBTQ migrants and communities. The academics, activists, and artists in the volume center illegalization, detention, and deportation in national and transnational contexts, and examine how migrants and allies negotiate, resist, refuse, and critique these processes. The works contribute to the fields of gender and sexuality studies, critical race and ethnic studies, borders and migration studies, and decolonial studies. Bridging voices and works from inside and outside of the academy, and international in scope, Queer and Trans Migrations illuminates new perspectives in the field of queer and trans migration studies. Contributors: Andrew J. Brown, Julio Capó, Jr., Anna Carastathis, Jack Cáraves, Karma R. Chávez, Ryan Conrad, Elif, Katherine Fobear, Monisha Das Gupta, Jamila Hammami, Edward Ou Jin Lee, Leece Lee-Oliver, Eithne Luibhéid, Hana Masri, Yasmin Nair, Bamby Salcedo, Fadi Saleh, Rafael Ramirez Solórzano, José Guadalupe Herrera Soto, Myrto Tsilimpounidi, Suyapa Portillo Villeda, Sasha Wijeyeratne, Ruben Zecena

Articles: Gender Fluidity (inc. as Related to Rural America)

Gender Flux: Transatlantic Influence on Fashioning the Cross-dresser in Ame...: Discovery Service for Fullerton College'
Gender Nonconformity and the Law: Discovery Service for Fullerton College'
Bend to Avoid Breaking: Job Loss, Gender Norms, and Family Stability in Rural America
The research finds that rural men are more flexible with regard to masculine identity than found by previous scholars. The author explores: 1) how the effect of job loss negatively affects rural communities, and 2) how the gender strategies pursued by couples heavily impact their relationships and families. Flexibility with regard to gender norms is key to creating stable relationships in a context of labor market change that threatens the existing gender order.
Gender independent kids: A paradigm shift in approaches to gender non-confo...: Discovery Service for Fullerton College'
Statista: Estimated share of homeless individuals in the United States in 2019, by gender
EBSCO: Queer Farmers: Sexuality and the Transition to Sustainable Agriculture
EBSCO: Just Queer Folks: Gender and Sexuality in Rural America
Gale eBooks - Document - Rural Queer Communities, US
Rural Queer Communities, US PhD candidate Florida State University, Tallahassee . Until recently, scholars habitually neglected queerness in the rural United States. Judith (now Jack) Halberstam ( ) identified this [...]
EBSCO: Sobriety Treatment and Recovery Teams in Rural Appalachia: Implementation a...: Discovery Service for Fullerton College'

Intersections: Queer Book Club Reads

Queer Book Club Reads & Intersection

Hispanic, queer writers

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Sáenz, Benjamin Alire (Mexican American, gay)

Ppbk, display and PZ7.S127 Ar

Lieutenant Nun: Memoir of a Basque Transvestite in the New World De Erauso, Catalina (Spanish, trans)

 2nd Floor ; CT1358.E7 A3 1996

Juliet Takes a Breath Rivera, Gabby (Puerto-Rican, trans)

Currently unavailable, but on order

More Happy Than Not Silvera, Adam (Puerto Rican, gay)

 2nd Floor ; PZ7.1.S54 Mor 2020

Queer, female writers

Nightwood Barnes, Djuna (poly)

2nd Floor ; PS3503.A614 N5 2006

The Essential Dykes to Watch Out For Bechdel, Alison

 2nd Floor ; PN6728.D94 B475 2008

One Last Stop McQuiston, Casey

2nd Floor ; Paperback McQuiston

On a Sunbeam Walden, Tillie

1st Floor ; PN6727.W266 O5 2018

Gay, Asian writers

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel Vuong, Ocean (Vietnamese)

2nd Floor ; PS3622.U96 O52 2019

The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) Nguyen, Trung Le (Vietnamese-American)

2nd Floor ; PZ7.7.T79 Mag 2020

Gay, Jewish writer

Two Boys Kissing Levithan, David

2nd Floor ; PZ7.L5798 Two 2015

Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes Kushner, Tony

2nd Floor ; PS3561.U778 A85

Caribbean, queer writer

Falling in Love with Hominids Hopkinson, Nalo (raised in Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad, and Canada)

Currently unavailable, but on order

Cherokee Two-Spirit and queer writer, also of African, Irish, Lenape, Lumbee, and Osage ascent, "crip and mad."

Asegi Stories: Cherokee Queer and Two-Spirit Memory Driskill, Qwo-Li

2nd Floor ; E99.C5 D795 2016

Gay, Black author

The Sweetness of Water, Harris, Nathan

2nd Floor ; PS3608.A783263 S94 2022

Female writer

The Song of Achilles: A Novel Miller, Madeline

Currently unavailable, but on order

Gay poet

(he)art. Frederick, Zane  2nd Floor ; PS595.H65 F7 2018

Also by Zane: I Am Tired of Being a Dandelion: 2nd Floor ; PS586 .F743 2021

Gay writer, primarily of Greek decent, but also of Middle-Eastern and Ashkenazi Jewish descent

Happy-Go-Lucky Sedaris, David

Not currently available, so go for: 2nd Floor ; PS3569.E314 A6 2010 (Holidays on ice with six new stories)

Queer, Black writer

You Should See Me in a Crown Johnson, Leah

2nd Floor ; Paperback Johnson

Queer, Muslim writer

We Have Always Been Here: A Queer Muslim Memoir Habib, Samra

2nd Floor ; Paperback Habib

Queer writer

Hedwig and the Angry Inch: Broadway Edition Mitchell, John Cameron (nonbinary)

(co-writer, Stephen Trask is of Jewish descent)
2nd Floor ; ML50.T769 H4 2003

Trans female writer, partially of Chinese descent

Females Chu, Andrea Long

2nd fl HQ1155 .C549 2019

Trans male writer of Irish Catholic descent

Tomboy Survival Guide Coyote, Ivan

2nd Floor ; HQ77.8.C696 A3 2016

Gay, Filipino-American writer

Flamer, Curato, Mike

2nd Floor ; PZ7.7.C876 Fl 2020

Chicanx/Latinx, trans, non-binary retired professor

L.A. Interchanges, Otero, Lydia

2nd fl: HQ 76.25 O84 2023

Non-binary, trans male author, whose genetic lineage includes a gay, Jewish bullfighter who befriended Hemingway

Confidence: A Novel, Frumkin, Rafael

2nd Floor ; PS3606.R88 C67 2023

Non-binary, queer, first-gen Iranian-American writer

The Ventriloquists: A Novel, Ramzipoor, E.R.

Currently unavailable, but on order

Zines (various) from QZAP – the Queer Zine Archive Project

Data Mapping & Equity, a Consideration for FC Faculty/Staff

OC Equity Map: Website
The OC Equity Map spotlights social and health disparities in Orange County neighborhoods. This interactive map visualizes 580 census tracts across the county and displays scores from the Social Progress Index (SPI), Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Health Indicators, and population demographic data. This tool allows our communities to identify what health inequities exist and where they are most felt, so we can work together to eliminate them.
OC Equity Map: FC Presentation
Fullerton College Professor Jodi Balma invites Katie Kalvoda, Founder of Advance OC, to showcase OC Advance's incredible data mapping tool the Orange County Equity Map.

Fullerton College Library

Resources: Everything Queer!

LGBTQ+ Database

Links to Resources

LGBTQIA2s+ Video Content via Kanopy, Swank, & Films on Demand

Queer Book Group Reading Options

Articles: Gender Fluidity (inc. as Related to Rural America)

Intersections: Queer Book Club Reads

Data Mapping & Equity, a Consideration for FC Faculty/Staff

LLRISPS