Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fullerton College Library

History of the United States

This guide is an entryway to the library's resources on American history.

Accessing the Library Databases

Accessing the Databases

From the library homepage, you'll see the following tabs.

Library Homepage tabs         

(Go to the library homepage to search the databases.)

  • ONESEARCH combines the catalog of library books and most of the subscription databases to search them simultaneously. Several databases are not included in OneSearch, but links to some of the databases unavailable through OneSearch, such as Statista and CQ Researcher, are listed on the right-hand column of the results page. OneSearch is a good place to start your research, but for the complete list of databases, use the Databases Tab. 

  • CATALOG  searches for the FC Library’s print books and other materials in the library collection such as DVDs.

  • DATABASES search the FC Library subscription databases for academic journal, newspaper, encyclopedia and magazine articles as well as eBooks, streaming videos, and other online resources. You can select and search individual databases using this tab.
  • JOURNALS search for specific periodical titles. (Note: Rarely used.)

LOGIN

LOGIN for off-campus access is the same as your MyGateway log in: Student ID and your MyGateway password. 
IMPORTANT NOTE

On the OneSearch screen, the login link is in small letters at the top of the page. You will be able to do some searches, but to access the full content, you will need to log in. You may get logged out while you're searching so if you see this yellow bar at the top of the OneSearch screen, you need to log in again.

One Search Sign in
 

Trouble Accessing the Databases?

Trouble Accessing the Databases?

Try the following if you have trouble with the databases through the library homepage:

  • Check your MyGateway log in.

  • Try a different web browser.

  • Try MyGateway to access the databases instead of the library webpage. Click on the FULLERTON tab in MyGateway to locate the database links. Just remember that the library catalog for books is not available through MyGateway.

  • Make sure you are logged in. Remember that the OneSearch login is a very small link at the top of the page. You will not be looking at the full content if you are not logged in. The database may periodically log out so you may have to log in more than once. 

If you are still having problems, contact a librarian through email or chat during library hours. Ask a Librarian. You may also try contacting Academic Computing Technologies help desk at helpdesk@fullcoll.edu if you think your login or password is incorrect.