Some photos are haunting, some breathtaking; some are illuminating, and some are beautiful. And some photos--as those of us who have ever been on the internet know--are downright hilarious. But humor has often been on the sidelines of photography scholarship. With this book, Louis Kaplan remedies this, gathering together over one hundred images in a revealing look at the way photographers--from the very beginning of photography in the nineteenth century--have found so much amusement at the ends of their lenses.             Kaplan introduces readers to a key set of genres in photographic humor, showing how humor is often tied to serious topics such as our identity, social situations, and--yes--death. He offers a fascinating range of examples, from stereographic domestic comedies to biting political satire, from conceptual artistic pratfalls to surrealist humour noir, and from trick photography to decisively hilarious moments in photojournalism. In doing so, he brings together works by renowned photographers--including Jacques Henri Lartigue, Elliott Erwitt, Weegee, Cindy Sherman, and Martin Parr--as well as those by your everyday photoshopper. The result is a rich collection of the witty, the absurd, and the uproarious.  

Some images are explicit. Reader discretion advised.
Includes list of contributing photographers.
Text in Vietnamese and English.

A generation who have come of age sharing vintage-filtered images via Instagram, developing an obsession with photography, are now seeking the authentic, hands-on, creative buzz that exists outside of the digital world - embracing 'old school' analogue film photography and 'full manual' cameras of all formats. Retro Cameras is a stylish, design-led guide to classic and retro cameras aimed at those who want to discover the world of analogue photography. It includes more than 100 camera models, from the easily affordable to the highly collectible, in 13 formats: 35mm SLRs; 35mm Rangefinders; 35mm Viewfinder Cameras; Roll Film SLRs; Sheet and Roll Film Folding Cameras; Twin Lens Reflexes; Instamatics; Stereo Cameras; Panoramic and Wide-angle Cameras; Miniature Cameras and Instant Cameras. Supplementing an already comprehensive resource are quick reference shooting guides for each format, as well as a list of retro camera accessories. With over 400 specially commissioned photographs, practical advice on how to use and get the most out of each camera, buyers' tips and a dedicated glossary, Retro Cameras is a perfect reference for young photographers who want to get creative with analogue photography, while also offering authoritative guidance for more experienced collectors and enthusiasts.

The definitive history of photography book, Seizing the Light: A Social & Aesthetic History of Photography delivers the fascinating story of how photography as an art form came into being, and its continued development, maturity, and transformation. Covering the major events, practitioners, works, and social effects of photographic practice, Robert Hirsch provides a concise and discerning chronological account of Western photography. This fundamental starting place shows the diversity of makers, inventors, issues, and applications, exploring the artistic, critical, and social aspects of the creative process. The third edition includes up-to-date information about contemporary photographers like Cindy Sherman and Yang Yongliang, and comprehensive coverage of the digital revolution, including the rise of mobile photography, the citizen as journalist, and the role of social media. Highly illustrated with full-color images and contributions from hundreds of artists around the world, Seizing the Light serves as a gateway to the history of photography. Written in an accessible style, it is perfect for students newly engaging with the practice of photography and for experienced photographers wanting to contextualize their own work.

An exact date for the invention of photography is evasive. Scientists and amateurs alike were working on a variety of photographic processes for much of the early nineteenth century. Thus most historians refer to the year 1839 as the "first" year of photography, not because the sensational new medium was invented then, but because that is the year it was introduced to the world.   After more than 175 years, and for the first time in English, First Exposures: Writings from the Beginning of Photography brings together more than 130 primary sources from that very year--1839--subdivided into ten chapters and accompanied by fifty-three images of significant visual and historical importance.   This is an astonishing work of discovery, selection, and--thanks to Steffen Siegel's introductory texts, notes, and afterword--elucidation. The range of material is impressive: not only all the chemical and technological details of the various processes but also contracts, speeches, correspondence of every kind, arguments, parodies, satires, eulogies, denunciations, journals, and even some poems.   Revealing through firsthand accounts the competition, the rivalries, and the parallels among the various practitioners and theorists, this book provides an unprecedented way to understand how the early discourse around photographic techniques and processes transcended national boundaries and interconnected across Europe and the United States.  

 The world of cinematography has changed more in the last few years than it has since it has in 1929, when sound recording was introduced. New technology, new tools and new methods have revolutionized the art and craft of telling stories visually. While some aspects of visual language, lighting and color are eternal, shooting methods, workflow and cameras have changed radically. Even experienced film artists have a need to update and review new methods and equipment. These change affect not only the director of photography but also the director, the camera assistants, gaffers, and digital imaging technicians. Cinematography: Theory and Practice covers both the artistry and craftsmanship of cinematography and visual storytelling. Few art forms are as tied to their tools and technology as is cinematography. Take your mastery of these new tools, techniques, and roles to the next level with this cutting-edge roadmap from author and filmmaker Blain Brown. Whether you are a student of filmmaking, just breaking into the business, currently working in the industry and looking to move up to the next level, or an experienced professional who wants to update their knowledge of tools and techniques, this book provides both a basic introduction to these issues as well as more advanced and in-depth coverage of the subject. The companion website features additional material, including lighting demonstrations, basic methods of lighting, using diffusion and other topics. Topics Include: Visual language Visual storytelling Continuity and coverage Cameras and digital sensors Exposure techniques for film and video Color in-depth Understanding digital images Waveform monitors, vectorscopes, and test charts Using linear, gamma, and log encoded video Image control and grading on the set The tools and basics of film lighting ASC-CDL, ACES and other new methods Optics and focus Camera movement Set operations Green screen, high speed and other topics