Online Sources: FC Library Databases

In addition to print materials, the library also subscribes to several databases full of online sources you can access from home. Think of databases like subscriptions to Netflix or Hulu. The TV shows and movies through these services are accessible online, but only for those who pay the monthly subscription fee. Library databases make sources, such as ebooks, journals, magazines, and newspapers accessible online, but only for those that pay the yearly subscription fee. These collections cost tens of thousands of dollars a year, so you will not find these same sources for free with a Google search. To log into FCL databases from off campus, you will need to enter your student ID number and last name. 

FC Library Databases

Gale eBooks

Containing encyclopedias and specialized reference sources, Gale eBooks assists with research over a number of disciplines.

The College Blue Book

One of the titles in Gale eBooks with degree programs and specific courses for careers. 

Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCOhost)

Provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related magazines and journals. Useful for finding career information.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)

Full-text coverage in Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Physics, Psychology, Religion & Theology, and more subjects; abstract & indexed journals; full text journals.

EBSCOhost Tips

#1 - To search more than one EBSCOhost database at the same time, click Choose Databases.

#2 - Use the limiters in the left column to narrow your results by date or source type.

#3 - Hover your mouse over the magnifying glass to get a peek at a source's description. This will help you determine the source's usefulness before opening the full article.

#4 - Email article with MLA citation to yourself, copy the citation with the cite button, or copy the URL with the permalink button.

Search Tips

1. Start with your career or major, e.g., librarian.

• Adding * (shift+8) will search for all words that have the same beginning, so librarian* will search for librarian and librarianship.

2. Since you are searching for information on careers, add careers to your search.

• Expand your search to include similar terms, connecting synonyms with the OR command, e.g., careers OR jobs OR professions 

3. In some cases, you may need to broaden or narrow your career to get to the information you need. For example:

• Instead of therapist, try a more specific career, such as "physical therapist" or "marriage and family therapist"
• If you don't get results for a specific career, such as forensic psychologist, try the broader psychologist.

4. Narrow your search by adding an aspect of the career you want to investigate further, e.g., trends or issues.