The FC Library recently migrated to a new authentication service that allows students and faculty to access Library database materials from off-campus with a greater degree of reliability and consistency. To complete the migration, we need faculty to update all links to Library database materials that currently exist in their Canvas courses.
Please update your links by May 31, 2024. If you do not update your links by the deadline, they will break.
To update a link, simply follow the instructions below:
1. Remove the section of the link that contains https://fcclib.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
2. Replace the section above with https://fcclib.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
3. The remainder of the link remains unchanged
If you have questions or need assistance updating your links, please contact the Fullerton College Library Systems Librarian, TIM REAM at tream@fullcoll.edu
The library uses the authentication service, EZproxy, to communicate to our database providers that our faculty and students have paid-for access. This improves the user experience by streamlining the sign-in process. For an authentication service to work properly, all links to our databases must be pointing to the right URLs.
You can use the Canvas link validation tool to help you find any broken links. Please use the instructions on how to use the Course Link Validator.
This video can also walk you through the step-by-step process.
Our Database A-Z list will link you to all of our databases. Use the share icon 
on the right-side of each database to find the appropriate link.
The library database links will work in your courses all through May 31st, 2024. After this date your links will break and students will no longer be able to access them. You can still repair them by switching to new links from the Library Database A-Z list or by removing section of the link that contains https://fcclib.idm.oclc.org/login?url= and replacing it with https://fcclib.idm.oclc.org/login?url=.
The library maintains access to all database links through our website. If possible, please link students to the library website and explain to them how to navigate to the library databases and OneSearch. This will also help them not only use the FC library databases again for other courses but could also help them get used to using library websites for research at other institutions.