LibGuides: English 101 (Fouquette/Ream, Spring 2024): Newspapers

Current Newspapers

Newspapers are helpful sources of local and current information. They provide historical context and first-person perspectives on topics related to history, politics, business, sports, arts, and culture. Use the newspaper databases below to access current articles that support your research topic.

U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

*Not included in OneSearch
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis® - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

*Not included in OneSearch
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Historic Newspapers and Archival Collections

America's Historical Newspapers - 1690-2000 This link opens in a new window
Use America's Historical Newspapers to find news articles covering topics in American history including government, politics, social issues, culture, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources. Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I and other time periods.

*Not included in OneSearch
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. With >170 periodicals, annuals, and reports, its 60,000+ pages represent a centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects.
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.

*Not included in OneSearch

Fullerton College Library

English 101 (Fouquette/Ream, Spring 2024): Newspapers

Current Newspapers

Historic Newspapers and Archival Collections

LLRISPS