ANA promotes self-sufficiency for Native Americans by providing discretionary grant funding for community based projects, and training and technical assistance to eligible tribes and native organizations.

Check this page for statistics on American Indians and Alaska Natives.

The American Indian Movement (AIM) is a Native American grassroots movement founded in 1968 to address systemic issues of poverty, discrimination, and police brutality against Native Americans. Their website states: "The movement was founded to turn the attention of Indian people toward a renewal of spirituality which would impart the strength of resolve needed to reverse the ruinous policies of the United States, Canada, and other colonialist governments of Central and South America."

Researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business. Since the U.S. Government’s interactions with American Indians changed over time, knowing the geographic place and the time period will help create a more positive research experience. As you plan your research, consider this question: how does my research topic intersect with the U.S. Federal Government? Note: Most of the records are not digitized, but you can still find many interesting documents and photos online.

The National Archives is working to digitize photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs. They acknowledge that photographs included in this project may evoke memories or feelings from a history of oppression. There are over 18,000 photographs in the collection.

This website is for the Gathering of Nations, the largest Pow-wow in North America.

Indian Country Today is an independent nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. Their digital platform covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. ICT was founded as the Lakota Times newspaper by Tim Giago, Oglala Lakota, on July 9, 1981. The publication was based in Pine Ridge, South Dakota.

Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities. The NCAI Resource Library offers a wide array of searchable resources to support and inform tribal leaders and citizens, and to educate the general public and media. The Resource library is updated frequently, providing the latest and most relevant information on American Indian and Alaska Native policy matters.

In partnership with Native peoples and their allies, the National Museum of the American Indian fosters a richer shared human experience through a more informed understanding of Native peoples. Check out the EXPLORE links.

This is the website for the Navajo Nation Government. It includes links to Navajo Nation Chapters. There is a short history of the Navajo Nation.

American Indian information for personal research, tribal histories, census and rolls.

Since 1970, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has provided legal assistance to Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who might otherwise have gone without adequate representation. NARF has successfully asserted and defended the most important rights of Indians and tribes in hundreds of major cases, and has achieved significant results in such critical areas as tribal sovereignty, treaty rights, natural resource protection, and Indian education. NARF publications and their legal review are available online.

Partnership With Native Americans is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization committed to championing hope for a brighter future for Native Americans living on remote, isolated and impoverished reservations. Collaborating for nearly 30 years withtheir reservation partners, they provide aid and services for Native Americans with the highest need in the U.S. PWNA also has resources about Native Americans on their website.

The Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 19 museums and the National Zoo. This page displays links to thousands of resources related to Native Americans.

In 1976, the California State Government passed AB 4239, establishing the Native American Heritage Commission (NAHC) as the primary government agency responsible for identifying and cataloging Native American cultural resources. Today, the NAHC provides protection to Native American human burials and skeletal remains from vandalism and inadvertent destruction. It also provides a legal means by which Native American descendants can make known their concerns regarding the need for sensitive treatment and disposition of Native American burials, skeletal remains, and items associated with Native American burials.

This office is responsible for overseeing and implementing effective government-to-government consultation between the Governor’s Administration and California Tribes on policies that affect California tribal communities. The Tribal Advisor’s charge is to serve as a direct link between the tribes in California and the Governor, facilitate communication and consultations between Tribes and State Agencies, and review state legislation and regulations affecting Tribes and provide recommendations.

UCLA Office of Equity, Diversity & Inclusion provides answers to questions about terminology, treaties and more.

The United American Indian Involvement's mission statement is to promote and support the physical, behavioral, and spiritual well-being of American Indian/Alaska Natives in the urban Los Angeles area by providing comprehensive, integrated services that focus on all age groups and incorporate American Indian/Alaska Native cultures and traditions.

In 1977, the Senate re‑established the Committee on Indian Affairs, making it a temporary Select Committee (February 4, 1977, S. Res. 4, Section 105, 95th Congress, 1st Sess. (1977), as amended). The Select Committee was to disband at the close of the 95th Congress, but following several term extensions, the Senate voted to make the Committee permanent on June 6, 1984. The Committee has jurisdiction to study the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. These issues include, but are not limited to, Indian education, economic development, land management, trust responsibilities, health care, and claims against the United States. Additionally, all legislation proposed by Members of the Senate that specifically pertains to American Indians, Native Hawaiians, or Alaska Natives is under the jurisdiction of the Committee.

Washington State Governor's Office of Indian Affairs has compiled an extensive tribal directory with useful links for Washington state tribal resources.

A website with numerous links to other websites relating to American Indians. (There is no information about the compiler of the information so review the website carefully for credibility.)