Cybersecurity is a constant, and, by all accounts growing, challenge. This report, the second in a multiphase study on the future of cybersecurity, reveals perspectives and perceptions from chief information security officers; examines the development of network defense measures--and the countermeasures that attackers create to subvert those measures; and explores the role of software vulnerabilities and inherent weaknesses.

Managing Information Security offers focused coverage of how to protect mission critical systems, and how to deploy security management systems, IT security, ID management, intrusion detection and prevention systems, computer forensics, network forensics, firewalls, penetration testing, vulnerability assessment, and more. It offers in-depth coverage of the current technology and practice as it relates to information security management solutions. Individual chapters are authored by leading experts in the field and address the immediate and long-term challenges in the authors' respective areas of expertise.

Today's digital economy is uniquely dependent on the Internet, yet few users or decision makers have more than a rudimentary understanding of the myriad of online risks that threaten us. Cyber crime is one of the main threats to the integrity and availability of data and systems. From insiders to complex external attacks and industrial worms, modern business faces unprecedented challenges; and while cyber security and digital intelligence are the necessary responses to this challenge, they are understood by only a tiny minority. In his second book on high-tech risks, Mark Johnson goes far beyond enumerating past cases and summarising legal or regulatory requirements. He describes in plain, non-technical language how cyber crime has evolved and the nature of the very latest threats. He confronts issues that are not addressed by codified rules and practice guidelines, supporting this with over 30 valuable illustrations and tables. Written for the non-technical layman and the high tech risk manager alike, the book also explores countermeasures, penetration testing, best practice principles, cyber conflict and future challenges. A discussion of Web 2.0 risks delves into the very real questions facing policy makers, along with the pros and cons of open source data. In a chapter on Digital Intelligence readers are provided with an exhaustive guide to practical, effective and ethical online investigations. Cyber Crime, Security and Digital Intelligence is an important work of great relevance in today's interconnected world and one that nobody with an interest in either risk or technology should be without.

The Basics of Cyber Warfare provides readers with fundamental knowledge of cyber war in both theoretical and practical aspects. This book explores the principles of cyber warfare, including military and cyber doctrine, social engineering, and offensive and defensive tools, tactics and procedures, including computer network exploitation (CNE), attack (CNA) and defense (CND). Readers learn the basics of how to defend against espionage, hacking, insider threats, state-sponsored attacks, and non-state actors (such as organized criminals and terrorists). Finally, the book looks ahead to emerging aspects of cyber security technology and trends, including cloud computing, mobile devices, biometrics and nanotechnology. The Basics of Cyber Warfare gives readers a concise overview of these threats and outlines the ethics, laws and consequences of cyber warfare. It is a valuable resource for policy makers, CEOs and CIOs, penetration testers, security administrators, and students and instructors in information security.

This timely handbook traces the development of cyber capabilities from their roots in information warfare and cryptology to their potential military application in combat. Cyber warfare is gaining prominence as a serious tactic in military conflicts throughout the world. And, as the most network-dependent nation on earth, the United States is the most vulnerable. Military expert and author Paul J. Springer examines the many facets of cyber combat--from the threats of information exposure that American civilians encounter on a daily basis, to the concern of keeping up with the capabilities of China and Russia, to the inherent dangers in ignoring cyber threats. This essential reference--the only of its kind to include an overview of other cyber warfare literature--emphasizes the importance of cyber operations in modern conflicts, detailing the efforts that have been made by government agencies to create networks that are secure. Noted experts in the field weigh in on the problems of attribution during a cyber attack, the detection of cyber intrusions, and the possible solutions for preventing data breaches. The book features profiles of theorists, commanders, and inventors; as well as organizations dedicated to cyber attacks, including government and military operations, industrial cyber security companies, and academic centers. Incorporates expertise from diverse viewpoints from the military, government agencies, industry, and academia Provides an informative timeline of key events in the development of cyber warfare capabilities Highlights the most prominent and effective cyber attacks in history as well as legal attempts to curb them

Explaining cybercrime in a highly networked world, this book provides a comprehensive yet accessible summary of the history, modern developments, and efforts to combat cybercrime in various forms at all levels of government--international, national, state, and local. As the exponential growth of the Internet has made the exchange and storage of information quick and inexpensive, the incidence of cyber-enabled criminal activity--from copyright infringement to phishing to online pornography--has also exploded. These crimes, both old and new, are posing challenges for law enforcement and legislators alike. What efforts--if any--could deter cybercrime in the highly networked and extremely fast-moving modern world? Introduction to Cybercrime: Computer Crimes, Laws, and Policing in the 21st Century seeks to address this tough question and enables readers to better contextualize the place of cybercrime in the current landscape. This textbook documents how a significant side effect of the positive growth of technology has been a proliferation of computer-facilitated crime, explaining how computers have become the preferred tools used to commit crimes, both domestically and internationally, and have the potential to seriously harm people and property alike. The chapters discuss different types of cybercrimes--including new offenses unique to the Internet--and their widespread impacts. Readers will learn about the governmental responses worldwide that attempt to alleviate or prevent cybercrimes and gain a solid understanding of the issues surrounding cybercrime in today's society as well as the long- and short-term impacts of cybercrime. Provides accessible, comprehensive coverage of a complex topic that encompasses identity theft to copyright infringement written for non-technical readers Pays due attention to important elements of cybercrime that have been largely ignored in the field, especially politics Supplies examinations of both the domestic and international efforts to combat cybercrime Serves an ideal text for first-year undergraduate students in criminal justice programs

Design for security is an essential aspect of the design of future computers. However, security is not well understood by the computer architecture community. Many important security aspects have evolved over the last several decades in the cryptography, operating systems, and networking communities. This book attempts to introduce the computer architecture student, researcher, or practitioner to the basic concepts of security and threat-based design. Past work in different security communities can inform our thinking and provide a rich set of technologies for building architectural support for security into all future computers and embedded computing devices and appliances. I have tried to keep the book short, which means that many interesting topics and applications could not be included. What the book focuses on are the fundamental security concepts, across different security communities, that should be understood by any computer architect trying to design or evaluate security-aware computer architectures.The book is also written to be accessible to a more general audience interested in the basic security technologies that can be used to improve cyber security. By understanding the concepts behind the security terminology, the interested reader would understand more clearly the frequent security breaches being reported in the news and be able to critique or even help propose effective security solutions.Table of Contents: Preface / Threat-Based Design / Security Policy Models / Access Control / Cryptography for Confidentiality and Integrity / Public-Key Crytography / Security Protocols / Summary / Bibliography / Appendix: Further Readings / Author's Biography