This box captures the method of communication used by the patron.

In Person - Question was asked face-to-face.

Chat Tool - Question was asked via the chat interface.

E-Mail - Question was asked by email. 

Text - Question was asked by texting to the library's phone number.

By Appointment - A research consultation booked through the Book-a-Librarian interface.

Phone - Question was asked by phone.

Other - Question asked by another method. For example, via a Social Media channel. 

 

This box captures the types of questions asked.

Printing/Copying/Scanning - These types of questions relate to any of the technical equipment in the library besides the computers. This includes the microfilm reader. Questions in this category may be general 'how-to' questions or related to troubleshooting the printing, copying, or scanning equipment.

Example questions/issues: 

"How do I print?"

"I'm not sure why my print didn't come out of the printer."

"How do I save my scanned document onto a flash drive?"

Research - These types of questions relate to patron research. Questions in this category capture the process of showing how to do research using a range of resources (databases, internet, books). 

Example questions/issues:

"I need help finding resources for my paper on cultural conditioning."

"I can't find journal articles on advertising and the brain, can you help?"

"I can only find good source for Paris Hilton on Google, how do I know they are reliable?"

Databases/Catalog - These types of questions relate to patrons searching for specific books. Questions in this category capture book requests from the general collection, not the reserve collection. They are also different from research questions because the patron either already knows the name of the book they are looking for or are looking to browse a particular subject area.

Example questions/issues:

"I am looking for 'Charlotte's Web', where can I find it?"

"I am looking for a Penguin Reader, where can I find it?"

"Where is your mystery section?"

Reserves - These types of questions relate to patrons searching for a book in the reserve collection. Questions in this category capture book requests that are on reserves, not the general collection.

Example questions/issues:

"I am looking for a book for my ESL 218 class, where can I find it?"

"My professor said he left books for us in the library, where can I find them?"

Directions/Referral to another department - These types of questions relate to directions to a service or building on campus, in the 800 building, or in the library. 

Example Questions/Issues:

"How do I get to the writing center?"

"Where do I get my student ID?"

"Where is the nearest restroom?"

"Where do I check-out a study room?"

Supplies - These types of questions relate to requests for supplies that may or may not be sold within the library. 

Example Questions/Issues:

"Do you have any scissors I can borrow?"

"Can I view a course catalog?"

Citing/Formatting - These types of questions relate to requests for help with citation or formatting in MLA, APA or other style. For questions on formatting for other purposes, use the Computer Literacy category.

Example Questions/Issues:

"How do I create an MLA works cited page?"

"How do I cite this source in my paper?"

"How do I put my name and page number on top of my document?"

Computer Literacy - Questions relating to using or troubleshooting a computer or phone or an application on a computer or phone. May involve a referral to ACT.

Example Questions/Issues:

"How do I log-in to the computers?"

"Which computers have MS word?"

"How do I connect to the Wi-Fi on my phone?"

"How do I use PowerPoint?"

"How do I save my Google Docs document as a PDF and upload it to Canvas?"

"How do I make this graph in Excel?"

Online Workshops - Questions that are about any of the library's online workshops (Avoiding Plagiarism, Evaluating Sources, Research Basics, Library Orientation and others).

"I took a library workshop, when can I expect my certificate?"

"How do I take a library workshop?"

"How do I retake a library workshop?"

Study Space -  Questions pertaining to the use of Library's study space other than the study rooms.

"Can non-students study in the library?"

"Where can I use Zoom in the library?"

"How can students with disabilities access the study space on the second floor?"

Hours - Questions about when the library is open.

"Is the library open on Saturdays?"

"How long is the library open today?"

Laptops - Questions about laptop lending, may include laptops form ACT.

"How can I borrow a laptop?"

"Where do I return a used laptop?"

Archives - Questions about library archives or where answers could be found in the archives.

"Where do I find old copies of the college catalog?"

"How can I access historical newspapers or yearbooks?"

Other - A catch-all category for questions not listed above. 

Example Questions/Issues:

"Does the library give away any books for free?"

"I have my class here, can you give us a tour of the library?"

"Can you sign my paper for my scavenger hunt?"

"How do I drop a class?"

 

This box captures information on how long it took to answer any question. The length of time is an estimate and will be used to create a grand-total estimate of how a typical librarian spends their time.

0 - 5 minutes - Questions that had a quick answer that was easy to convey. For example, questions relating to directions, supplies, or showing a patron how to go through the printing process or where to find a book may fit into this time-frame. 

6 - 25 minutes - Questions that may require an in depth explanation or research. For example, questions in this category may be impromptu research questions may be in this category or a computer literacy questions.

25-35 minutes - Questions that take about 30 minutes to complete. These are questions that are typically done by appointment and capture the promised appointment length.

35 - 60 minutes - Questions that take a while to resolve or appointments that go over the typical appointment length.

60+ minutes - Questions that are extremely and unnecessarily long.

This box captures whether the library had a sufficient amount of resources for the librarian to answer the question in a way that helps the patron to successfully complete their goal. 

Sufficient - The library has the sufficient resources to answer a patron's question in a way that helps the the patron complete their goal.

Insufficient - The library lacks the resources to answer a patron's question in a way that helps the patron complete their goal. This is an internal flag that something may need to be looked into and routed to an appropriate person who can then supply appropriate resources.

What it means for the library to have sufficient or insufficient resources depends on the question type. In general, the library may be insufficient in the following resources:

1) Information represented in its collection. An example of insufficiency: a book that isn't in the stacks or a database content that weakly represents a subject area.

2) Librarian expertise. An example of insufficiency: a librarian not knowing about a particular event on campus or how to troubleshoot a computer issue. 

3) Working equipment. An example of insufficiency: a printer/print release station that is unable to print a job without losing or damaging it.

4) Supplies. An example of insufficiency: no available laptop chargers.

5) Space. An example of insufficiency: students asking the librarian when more seats become available in the library.

Whether the library has sufficient or insufficient resources for a particular question type is up to the discretion of each librarian. A rule of thumb to decide is whether you think that a tool or bit of information may help resolve the same kind of issue in the future.

 

Examples for Printing/Copying/Scanning

Sufficient:

A student came to print a paper for the first time. A librarian walked the student through the printing process, answering the students' questions along the way. A printer ran out of paper but the librarian was able to reload it. The library's resources are sufficient because the student was able to use the librarian's expertise and the library's equipment to reach their goal. No malfunctions were experienced.

Insufficient:

Ex 1: A student came to print a paper. A librarian walked the student through the printing process, answering the students' questions along the way. However, the printer jammed and the librarian was not able to fix the paper jam without getting Don's help. The student lost their paper in the process and had to reprint again. Although the student eventually got their print job, this does not show sufficient printing resources because the necessary equipment wasn't working and the librarian did not have the expertise to resolve it.

What this may mean: If enough of these types of questions come up and they are taking up a good chunk of time, it would be good data to support funding for a new printer.

Ex 2: A student printed their paper from Google Docs and it came out strangely. A librarian showed them how to reprint. Although the student was able to accomplish their printing goal, they experienced a technical malfunction with the printing process. This is an example of insufficient printing resources.

What this may mean: If there are a lot of these types of issues, then we may need to think about being more pro-active with messaging or getting ACT involved.

Examples for Research

Sufficient: 

A student asked a librarian's help to find resources for their English paper. The librarian was able to go over the research process and together they were able to find good sources in the library databases or catalog, which the student was able to email to themselves. 

Insufficient: 

A student asked for a librarian's help to find academic resources for a research paper. After doing a search in the library's databases and catalog, the librarian was able to verify that there are no good sources academic sources on the chosen topic. 

What this may mean: Collection Development may want to consider adding more books or database coverage on the chosen topic. Or librarians may want to liaise with the instructor to properly set expectations of what is possible with library resources.

Examples for Catalog 

Sufficient: 

A student asks to find 'Charlotte's Web'. The librarian shows the student how to find it using a catalog computer and helps them find the book in the stacks. 

Insufficient:

A student asks to find 'The Double Helix'. Neither the librarian nor the student are able to find the book in the catalog.

What this may mean: Librarians may want to acquire this book when doing collection development.

Examples for Reserves 

Sufficient: 

Examples for Directions