LibGuides: Political Science Resource Guide: Find Sources with OneSearch

Databases NOT Included in OneSearch

OneSearch doesn't search all FCL databases. On the OneSearch results page, you'll find a list of these collections under the heading 'Additional Resources.' You can also access these collections from the 'Databases' tab or by clicking the links below. Hover over the links for database descriptions.

America's Historical Newspapers - 1690-2000 This link opens in a new window Use America's Historical Newspapers to find news articles covering topics in American history including government, politics, social issues, culture, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources. Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I and other time periods. *Not included in OneSearch
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. *Not included in OneSearch
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window The CQ Researcher is the award-winning choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition. Look for detailed analyses of current social issues, targeting controversial or "hot" topics. *Not included in OneSearch
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis® - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. *Not included in OneSearch
Statista This link opens in a new window A comprehensive statistics database covering 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources. Includes statistics on topics related to media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest. *Not included in OneSearch
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. *Not included in OneSearch

OneSearch Tips

Find Sources with OneSearch

From the library homepage, use the OneSearch tab to search almost all of the library databases and catalog for books/ebooks, academic journals, popular magazines, trade publications, newspapers, and more. Check the tabs above for guidance if you are looking specifically for journal articles or books. Check the left column for a list of databases not included in OneSearch.

OneSearch Tab Use the OneSearch tab to search almost all databases and the catalog at once.
Using OneSearch accordion style: When using OneSearch, plan on conducting multiple searches in which you start with a broad search, then narrow, then expand, then narrow again, checking your results with each change that you make to your search.
Basic Search: Start Broad Search your broad topic first (1-3 words) to retrieve a research starter and other sources that provide background information and topic overviews. Skim result titles, subjects, and summaries/abstracts for terms that will narrow your search.
Example: [political polarization] Subjects (in the left column): group identity, social groups, mass media, fake news, social media
Advanced Search: Narrow Your Search with AND Go the advanced search, then add a narrowing term to the second search bar.
Example: [political polarization] AND [group identity]
Advanced Search: Expand Your Search with OR Give the database options by connecting similar or related terms with the OR command.
Example: [political polarization] AND [group identity OR social groups] Note: If words in phrases are separated in results, force them together by enclosing between quotation marks. Example: ["political polarization"] AND ["group identity" OR "social groups"]
Limit Results by Date or Source Type Use the options in the left column to limit results by source type, date range, subject, and more.

Read Results: Titles, Subjects, and Abstracts Determine the relevance of a source by hovering your mouse over the magnifying glass to preview the subjects and abstract.

Use Database Tools: Download, Email, Cite, and Permalink Use the options in the right tools bar and top PDF reader to save, cite, and link back to the article.