Skip to Main Content

Fullerton College Library

OER: Open Educational Resources: BUS & CIS

This guide on OER (Open Educational Resources) is designed to give FC faculty some basic information that will encourage the adoption and implementation of OER in their courses.

OER Resources

  • BCcampus OpenEd
    • BCcampus offers a wide variety of business textbooks that are reviewed by faculty, with some including supplementary material. They also offer a collection of textbooks that are accessible.
  • Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
    • All books listed in DOAB are freely accessible and therefore free to read, but this does not mean readers are free to do anything they like with these books. The usage rights of the books in DOAB are determined by the license.
  • MERLOT
    • MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
  • OER Commons
    • OER Commons is a single search source that pulls OER resources from a variety of existing collections.
  • Open Textbook Library
    • This site offers a collection of open textbooks. Most are available for download as PDF or EPUB.

Business Open Textbooks

  • Open Stax Textbooks - Business

    • High quality, peer-reviewed textbooks in Business Ethics, Business Law, Entrepreneurship, Intellectual Property, Accounting, Management and more. Openly licensed and 100% free.To access faculty-only materials, create a free OpenStax account.

  • Open Textbook Library - Business

    • Complete textbooks that have been reviewed by a variety of college and university faculty, and can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

  • OER Commons - Open Textbooks in Business & Communication

    • OER Commons is a large repository that includes all kinds of Open Educational Resources. Textbooks here include subjects of: Accounting, Communication, Finance, Journalism, Management, Marketing and Public Relations. Use the search limiters to narrow by education level, material type (i.e. Textbooks) and subject.

Open Businesses Assignments and Courses

  • Wikipedia in the Classroom: Business Example

    • This article, from WikiEDU, describes Amy Carleton’s Advanced Writing in the Business Administration Professions course at Northeastern University, in which students created and edited Wikipedia entries on topics such as international entrepreneur rule and corporate social responsibility.

  • FinTech: Shaping the Financial World (MIT Open Courseware)

    • This course about financial technology, or FinTech, is for students wishing to explore the ways in which new technologies are disrupting the financial services industry—driving material change in business models, products, applications and customer user interface. MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

Repositories

  • Merlot

    • A large collection of peer-reviewed online teaching and learning materials including case studies, tutorials and more. MERLOT opened in 1997 and is supported by the California State University System. Merlot offers discipline specific Communities.

  • OER Commons

    • A single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Open Stax. OER Commons has forged alliances with over 500 major content partners. Search by keyword, subject discipline, education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

  • SOL*R

    • Resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs. Sharable Online Learning Resources is supported through BCcampuses in British Columbia.

  • OpenStax

    • Textbooks and free educational material in small modules. Users can create customized versions of the books - selecting specific content modules and adding their own.Founded in 1999 at Rice University.
  • Open Textbook Library

    • The library is sponsored by the Center for Open Education at the University of Minnesota. All textbooks have been reviewed by faculty and are in current use or are affiliated with a professional society.

  • OAPEN

    • OAPEN is the Open Access Publishing in European Network and their Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works directly with publishers to build a quality controlled open collection.
  • Cool4ed

    • A clearinghouse for open textbooks authored by faculty at three State of California Higher Education Systems (CCC, CSU and UC). Search for textbooks from Merlot or those available with a Creative Commons License.

 

Courses and Videos

  • BC Open Textbooks - Computer Science

    • Open textbooks on CIS topics such as database management and information systems.
  • How to Design Programs, Second Edition

    • This is an introductory textbook that uses DrRacket language. The purpose of this book is to introduce readers without prior experience to the systematic design of programs. In tandem, it presents a symbolic view of computation, a method that explains how the application of a program to data works.
  • MERLOT

    • MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
  • Milne Open Textbooks

    • Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
  • The National Academies Press (NAP)

    • This is a great resource that provides textbooks on Computers and Information Technology.
  • National Academy Press

    • Many free read-online or free PDF download options.
  • OAPEN

    • Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.
  • OER Commons

    • OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for Computer Science studies.
  • OpenStax CNX - Computers

    • Several open textbooks on a variety of topics related to computer science.
  • Open Textbook Library

    • Browse a wide selection of textbooks on computer science studies.
  • Pressbooks OER

    • The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.
  • Academic Earth Computer Science Courses

    • A large selection of computer science courses on a variety of topics.
  • Computer Science -edX

    • Enroll in the latest computer science courses covering important topics in artificial intelligence, cyber security, software engineering, and big data. Add a portfolio of programming skills or get an overview of the field with Harvard University’s Introduction to Computer Science, a free course that you can start today.
  • Crash Course Series: Computer Science

    • In this series, you will trace the origins of our modern computers, take a closer look at the ideas that gave us our current hardware and software, discuss how and why our smart devices just keep getting smarter, and even look towards the future! Computers fill a crucial role in the function of our society, and it's our hope that over the course of this series you will gain a better understanding of how far computers have taken us and how far they may carry us into the future.
  • Future Learn - Tech & Coding Courses

    • Learn to code or develop your programming skills with online coding courses - from beginner to advanced level. Explore technology trends - like big data, cyber security, data science or digital marketing - with flexible courses from top universities.
  • Khan Academy - Computer Programming

    • Videos covering the fundamentals of programming using JavaScript.
  • Khan Academy - Cryptography and Information Theory

    • Videos covering cryptography (how we protect secret information) and information theory (how we encode and compress information).
  • MIT Open Courseware - Computer Science

    • MIT's Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department offers a variety of online courses. Course format generally includes, lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
  • Saylor Academy

    • Collection of PDF versions of textbooks on various topics. HTML versions are also available.
  • Top University Videos
    • This Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities.

​​​​​​​

Courses and Videos

  • MERLOT

    • MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
  • Milne Open Textbooks - Criminal Justice

    • Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
  • Milne Open Textbooks - Law

  • The National Academies Press (NAP)

    • This is a great resource that provides textbooks on law and justice studies.
  • OAPEN

    • Both a collection of open access publications and a publishing platform with a focus on social sciences and humanities.
  • OER Commons: Law

    • OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for ethics and law subjects.
  • Open Book Publishers

    • UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.
  • Pressbooks OER

    • The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources, including textbooks and courses, organized by discipline.
  • Coursera

    • Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.
  • Future Learn - Crimonology and Justice Courses

    • Explore the role of the state in regulating criminal behavior and the parts played by those in the criminal justice system or explore how the vast amounts of data generated today can help us understand and even predict how humans behave.
  • Future Learn - Law Courses

    • From international law and forensic science, to criminal justice and legal ethics: gain a better understanding of legal fields and process with our online law courses from the world's major universities.
  • MIT Open Courseware

    • Find courses on legal studies such as "Race, Crime, and Citizenship in American Law", and Trials in History."
  • Open Learn - Society, Politics, and Law

    • Produced by The Open University, a world leader in open and distance learning, all OpenLearn courses are free to study. We offer nearly 1000 free courses across 8 different subject areas. Our courses are available to start right away.
  • TED ED: Lessons Worth Sharing - Civics

    • Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

 

 

Business Management Featured Textbooks

OpenStax Principles of Management

​​​​​​Principles of Management is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach. Management is a broad business discipline, and the Principles of Management course covers many management areas such as human resource management and strategic management, as well behavioral areas such as motivation.

Management Communication

From the Marriott School of Business at Brigham Young University, this open textbook addresses business communication which is concise, direct, clear, and compelling.

Strategic Management (2020)

This text is an adaptation of Mastering Strategic Management. It offers an introduction to the key topics and themes of strategic management. The authors draw on examples of familiar companies and personalities to illustrate the different strategies used by today’s firms—and how they go about implementing those strategies. Students will learn how to conduct a case analysis, measure organizational performance, and conduct external and internal analyses. In short, they will understand how organizations operate at the strategic level to be successful.

OpenStax Organizational Behavior

This text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture. An array of recurring features engages students in entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management.

Accounting Featured Textbooks

Principles of Accounting Vol 1: Financial Accounting

​​​​​​Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes.

Principles of Accounting Vol 2: Managerial Accounting

This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields.

Introduction to Financial Accounting

​​​​​​The text focuses on core introductory financial accounting topics that match pre-requisite requirements for students advancing to Intermediate Financial Accounting. Excluded are advanced topics that are covered in Intermediate Financial Accounting, such as leases and bond amortization.