Juggling college, work, and personal life can be stressful. This guide is designed to provide you with a variety of resources to help you better understand what helps and hinders our mental health. On these pages, you'll find print books, ebooks, articles, and phone numbers for support services and crisis hotlines that you can call if you're in need of immediate assistance. Remember, taking care of yourself is essential to your success both in and out of the classroom.
FC students can make appointments with a mental health professional at the Health Center (1200 bldg, room 1204) or over the phone at: (714) 992-7093
Mental Health support for LGBTQIA2S+ students:
Search and connect to support (e.g., financial assistance, food pantries, and medical care) by zip code at: findhelp.org
You will find more infographics at Statista
Find more articles using OneSearch on the library homepage. On the result page, limit to magazine and academic journal articles under Source Types in the left column.
Are U Ok? : a guide to caring for your mental health : how to know if you need help & where to find it by
Learn hands-on coping strategies for managing anxiety, depression, eating disorders, and other mental health concerns with this "compassionate" guide from a licensed therapist and YouTube personality (John Green). Get answers to your most common questions about mental health and mental illness -- including anxiety, depression, bipolar and eating disorders, and more. Are u ok? walks readers through the most common questions about mental health and the process of getting help -- from finding the best therapist to navigating harmful and toxic relationships and everything in between. In the same down-to-earth, friendly tone that makes her videos so popular, licensed marriage and family therapist and YouTube sensation Kati Morton clarifies and destigmatizes the struggles so many of us go through and encourages readers to reach out for help.
Self-Care for Black Men by
A self-care guidebook full of activities for Black men everywhere pursuing joy, creating connections, confronting racism, and working through intergenerational trauma. Black men desperately need care and restoration. But what does that restoration look like when you're a Black man in today's world? How do you take care of your mental health when men who look like you die at the hands of police? How do you find peace and refuge when you're not sure how to keep up with your partner? Or navigate a challenging workplace? While scrolling through social media feeds, you may feel like you don't have access to wellness like women do. But Black men need a space for self-care too. In Self-Care for Black Men, you will find practical answers to your questions. This book contains self-care strategies that address some of the most common issues Black men face, such as dealing with racism, navigating prejudice in the workplace, managing romantic relationships, and working through intergenerational trauma. This is your guide to wellness and self-discovery written specifically for Black men. There will opportunities to learn new skills to manage your mental health, as well as do more deep reflection on your own terms. It's time to take your health firmly within your own hands and Self-Care for Black Men will help you do that.
Self-Care for Black Women by
Prioritize your wellbeing with these 150 self-care exercises designed specifically to help Black women revitalize their outlook on life, improve their mental health, eliminate stress, and self-advocate. Between micro- and macro-aggressions at school, at work, and everywhere in between, it's tough to prioritize physical and mental wellness as a Black woman, especially with a constant news cycle highlighting Black trauma. Now, with The Self-Care for Black Women you'll find more than 150 exercises that will help you radically choose to put yourself first. Whether you need a quick pick-me-up in the middle of the day, you're working through feelings of burnout, or you need to process a microaggression, this book has everything you need to feel more at peace. You'll find prompts like: -Map out your feelings about a microaggression -Make a list of your safe spaces -Detail out an entire day dedicated to your self-care -And more! It's time to put yourself first and prioritize your self-care once and for all--and this book is here to help you do just that.
Self-Care for College Students: from orientation to graduation, 150+ easy ways to stay happy, healthy, and stress-free by
Make the most out of your college experience with these manageable self-care tips that are easy to incorporate into your busy college lifestyle. As a student in college--you're dealing with a lot. At times this can be physically, mentally, and emotionally draining between classes, homework, activities, and building a new social life for yourself. But the secret to making sure these are the best years of your life is making time for self-care. If you've been working for hours on your latest paper, take a walk around campus to get moving. If you're feeling tired after a long week of classes and activities, give yourself permission to say no to those Friday night plans and take a relaxing evening for yourself. Self-Care for College Students offers suggestions that help you tackle every aspect of taking care of yourself from the simplest tasks to rewarding activities that might require more planning. Whether it is making sure you eat a healthy meal to utilizing your school's support services, there is advice for any situation. In this book, find realistic and practical self-care activities that you can try right away to maximize your college experience. Each activity is designed to help you refuel, such as making sure you get enough sleep to developing an exercise routine. Start making time for you and make your college years the best of your life--all while building lifelong habits for success and happiness for years to come.
Self-Esteem: a proven program of cognitive techniques for assessing, improving, & maintaining your self-esteem by
If you struggle with low self-esteem, or you're seeking positive and effective ways of building a healthy sense of self-worth, this much-anticipated fourth edition of the best-selling classic by Matthew McKay is your go-to guide. This fully revised edition features an innovative application of acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to self-esteem, and utilizes updated cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) to help you create positive change and thrive. Circumstances and status can affect self-esteem--many factors can contribute to the way we see ourselves--but the one contributing factor that all people who struggle with low self-esteem have in common is our thoughts. Of course we all have a better chance of feeling good about ourselves when things are going well, but it's really our interpretation of our circumstances that can cause trouble, regardless of what they are. This revised and updated fourth edition of the best-selling Self-Esteem uses proven-effective methods of CBT and relevant components of ACT to help you raise low self-esteem by working on the way you interpret your life. You'll learn how to differentiate between healthy and unhealthy self-esteem, how to uncover and analyze negative self-statements, and how to create new, more objective and positive self-statements to support your self-esteem rather than undermine it. And with cutting-edge material on defusion and values, you'll learn to let go of judgmental, self-attacking thoughts and act in accordance with what matters to you most, enhancing your sense of self-worth. If you struggle with low or unhealthy self-esteem, this new edition of Self-Esteem, packed with evidence-based tips and techniques, has everything you need to improve the way you see yourself for better overall well-being.
Find more books using the Catalog tab on the library homepage.
Complete Mental Health Resource Guide, 2020/21 by
This edition has been broadly expanded to offer the most comprehensive information covering the field of behavioral health, with detailed, comprehensive and critical information for not only those challenged with a mental disorder, their family and support network, but also for paraprofessionals and professionals in the field.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities by
Historically, mental health clinical research has taken inadequate account of psychosocial disorders experienced by those who identify as sexual and gender minorities, however, researchers have recently begun developing and adapting evidence-based mental health treatment approaches for usewith these groups.Handbook of Evidence-Based Mental Health Practice with Sexual and Gender Minorities offers a comprehensive array of evidence-based approaches for treating sexual and gender minority clients' mental health concerns. The interventions detailed here span a diverse spectrum of populations, includingsexual and gender minority youth, transgender populations, same-sex couples, sexual minority parents, and bisexual individuals. Chapters also address numerous mental and behavioral health problems, including anxiety disorders, depression, substance abuse, trauma, body image disturbance, and sexualhealth. In addition to an overview of the research evidence supporting each clinical presentation and approach, chapters contain practical how-to guidance for therapists to use in their clinical practice. This book reflects a true integration of the best of sexual and gender minority research andthe best of evidence-based practice research, presented by the leading experts in the field. As such it is essential reading for mental health professionals who work with these groups, as well as trainees in social work, counseling, and clinical psychology.
Measuring What Counts: The Global Movement for Well-Being by
In 2009, a group of economists issued a report challenging gross domestic product (GDP) as a measure of progress and well-being. Now, in Measuring What Counts they - propose a new, 'beyond GDP' agenda. This book provides an accessible overview of the last decade's global movement, sparked by the original critique of GDP, and proposes a new 'dashboard' of metrics to assess a society's health, including measures of inequality and economic vulnerability, whether growth is environmentally sustainable, and how people feel about their lives.
Reference Shelf: Mental Health Awareness by
Some studies indicate that as many as one in four adult Americans suffers from some kind of mental health concern each year. This issue of The Reference Shelf takes a closer look at mental health in America and the struggle to spread awareness about mental health challenges. Articles in this issue look at topics such as mental health coverage, mental health training for institutions and government officials, and mental health interventions by police. Other topics include mental health and the workplace and efforts to fight the stigma on mental illness.
Chatter: The Voice in Our Head, Why It Matters, and How to Harness It: Author Talk with Ethan Kross
Find more eBooks using OneSearch on the library homepage. On the result page, limit to eBooks under Source Types in the left column.
Emotional Health and Well-Being: Practical Mind Science by
This book is an informative and practical guide for using the mind to improve health, resilience, and well-being. Drawn from many tried and tested methods and using a question and answer format, it also includes over 30 practical activities for improving well-being and coping with emotional, mental, and physical difficulties. The book covers stress, panic, worry, sleep deprivation, self-esteem, setting goals, building self-confidence, and more. The companion CD-ROM includes audio recordings for relaxation, checklists, and numerous NIH mini-booklets. You can learn how to use these resources in many positive ways to enhance your physical health, lower stress levels, cope with anxiety, anger, and break negative habits. FEATURES Easy to follow, questions and answer format includes definitions / descriptions, case studies, and a host of practical ways for boosting well-being on all levels Includes a companion CD-ROM with audio recordings, checklists, self-assessment questionnaires, figures from the book, etc. Written by two highly experienced trainers Covers panic, anger, stress, self-confidence, sleep, setting goals, relationships, and more
Promoting Public Mental Health and Well-Being: Principles Into Practice by
What causes a person to flourish or languish? Or to be well or ill? How can the mental health and well-being of society as a whole, and individuals, be promoted and enhanced? This book explores the social, economic, political, cultural and environmental factors that affect mental health and well-being on a societal and individual level, and how prevention and intervention can enhance mental health. Taking a holistic approach to mental health, the book sets out effective strategies, from creating a supportive environment to building personal skills. Three extended case studies demonstrate how principles can be applied in practice in different situations: a specific social problem (suicide); a population group (young Black and minority ethnic groups); and a medically defined problem (people with long term conditions). The book is a vital resource for strategic planners (including commissioners) working to promote mental health and wellbeing at a population level, as well as operational services delivering to specific individuals and groups. It addresses the role of generic service providers as well as being essential reading for mental health and public health students.
Psychology of Well-Being: Theory, Perspectives and Practice by
This book presents eleven contributions from scholars shedding light on different aspects of well-being during the life course, covering diverse parts of the world, and employing research methods ranging from reviews, secondary data analysis, and qualitative approaches to pilot studies and quantitative investigations. The book provides a broad overview regarding the topic of well-being as well as insights into very specific matters. The determinants of well-being range from physiological, social, psychological, spiritual, and economic factors which can be examined individually or concerning their interplay. They can be studied on the micro, meso and macro levels, from an individual, group-related, organisational or societal perspective. This book takes on the challenge of doing justice to this diversity to create a holistic picture.
