Stress - This page provides an array of resources designed to help manage stress effectively, including coping strategies and educational materials.
Explore a carefully selected collection of print books that provides in-depth insights and comprehensive information on mental health topics. Find more books using the Catalog tab on the library homepage.
The Mayo Clinic guide to stress-free living
Microaggressions and Traumatic Stress: theory, research, and clinical treatment by
Challenging current definitions of trauma, Kevin L. Nadal distills the latest research on the effects of microaggressions, looking at how regular exposure to subtle discrimination can, over time, elicit similar symptoms to severe trauma. Previous research on trauma has suggested that it results from experiencing or witnessing actual or threatened death, or serious injury, but this view has been expanding in recent years. New research has focused on the relationship between persistent, often casual social discrimination and trauma. In a changing world where discrimination seems to take center stage on the news, more and more individuals are able to put a name to the daily microaggressions that may plague their lives. These stressors can act as trigger mechanisms that impact their ability to cope with life stressors, affecting self‑esteem and relationships. This brief but comprehensive volume includes illustrative case studies that will help practitioners understand and treat clients with trauma resulting from persistent but otherwise subtle and difficult-to-identify microaggressions.
My Plastic Brain: one woman's yearlong journey to discover if science can improve her mind by
Using herself as a guinea pig, a science journalist explores "neuroplasticity" to find out whether she can make meaningful, lasting changes to the way her brain works. In books like THE HAPPINESS PROJECT, THE NO-SPEND YEAR, and THE YEAR OF YES, individuals have tried a specific experience and then reported on it, sharing the takeaway for the rest of us. In MY PLASTIC BRAIN, Caroline Williams spends a year exploring "neuroplasticity"--the brain's ability to reorganize itself by forming new neural connections--to find out whether she can make meaningful, lasting changes to the way her brain works. A science journalist with access to cutting edge experts and facilities, she volunteers herself as a test subject, challenging researchers to make real changes to the function and performance of her brain. She seeks to improve on everyday weaknesses such as her limited attention span and tendency to worry too much. She then branches out into more mysterious areas such as creativity and the perception of time. From Boston to Oxford, England, and Philadelphia to Freiburg, Germany, Williams travels to labs or virtually meets with scientists and tries their techniques of mindfulness meditation, magnetic brain stimulation, sustained focus exercises, stress response retraining, and more. She shares her intimate journey with readers to discover what neuroscience can really do for us.
Needless Suffering: how society fails those with chronic pain by
Needless Suffering offers a sociological examination of a complex medical problem: chronic pain and the inability of doctors and other health professionals to understand and manage it in their patients. People in pain, writes Nagel, are the poor of the medical world. Like the poor, they are stigmatized and left at the mercy of powerful social actors who tend to work in their own self-interest, frequently at the expense of those they propose to serve. This leaves those who suffer with little control over their own destinies and creates a dysfunctional status quo that harms instead of helps. Drawing on his own experience witnessing his mother's chronic pain and numerous clinical stories from over thirty years' expertise as a pain management specialist, Nagel looks first at patients, their families, and their doctors (usually not trained in pain management), and then broadens his canvas to elaborate a "pain power structure" that includes the entire healthcare community, insurers, lawyers, government regulators, employers, politicians, law enforcement agencies, and painkilling drugs. Concluding with concrete policy proposals and reforms to create more effective and compassionate pain care, this book is designed for pain patients and their families, healthcare providers, legislators and other public policymakers, judges, personal injury and other attorneys, insurers, government regulators, law enforcement personnel, and health care businesspeople.
Practical Optimism: The art, science, and practice of exceptional well-being by
As the first medical director and attending psychiatrist at the World Trade Center Mental Health Program, Dr. Sue Varma worked directly with civilian and first-responder survivors in the aftermath of 9/11. There, she met people at every point of the stress and trauma continuum. She saw devastation and stagnancy as much as she saw amazing resilience and growth. She asked herself: how do some people survive, even thrive, despite profound challenges? And how can we optimize the things we have control over, while buffering ourselves from stress? Through her work with patients and combining philosophy, her own personal experience, and a review of the latest research in psychology, psychiatry, medicine, and neuroscience, Dr. Varma discovered that the answer lies in cultivating an optimistic mindset that stays tethered to the real world and helps us make sound and reasonable decisions. This epiphany inspired Practical Optimism, Dr. Varma's powerful program with eight pillars to help all of us experience a sense of meaning, mastery, and self-acceptance and create lives filled with joy and purpose. Optimists, research has shown, are not just happier and more successful, but physically healthier. And if you're a natural-born pessimist? No problem: the most vital piece of the Practical Optimism program is that it is a practice, a skillset that we can choose to adopt and get better at every day. This book isn't about magical thinking. Practical optimists are resourceful, realistic, and thoughtful problem solvers who possess something of rare value: the inner resources to cope during a crisis and to use as fuel to flourish. Complete with self-assessment quizzes and exercises, Practical Optimism will help us all see the world for the better and reach our true potential. Practical Optimism is a scientific and tangible pathway to boosting health, happiness, resilience, success, and longevity.
Stress: the Psychology of Managing Pressure by
Covering sources of stress in every area of life: work, exams, relationships, social pressure, money, and more, this practical guide combines infographics and self-analysis questionnaires to make information easy to access and apply. This dynamic infographic program, founded on cutting-edge psychological research, enables you to deconstruct and deal with stress head-on. Stress: The Psychology of Managing Pressure helps you identify external and internal sources of stress in your life and reframe unhelpful patterns of thought into powerful psychological solutions that you can apply every day. Underpinned by psychological theory, with relevant findings from psychologists, doctors, and teachers, this book will help you smash the shadow of stress in any area of your life and emerge happier, healthier, and more productive.
Stressilient: How to Beat Stress and Build Resilience by
Stress. It's everywhere these days: a cry for help, the answer to why illnesses pop up (or won't go away), an issue for students and workers, and a culprit when it comes to everything from car accidents to weight gain. Stress is one of those problems most of us are left to figure out and solve by ourselves (a warm bath with scented candle only goes so far). Akbar walks worried readers through how to calm themselves by: -understanding how your brain is wired and why its natural genius at problem-solving doesn't help when it comes to stress -creating space between you and your thoughts -repeating worrisome words to sap them of meaning -defusing "thought bombs" -learning to avoid the CAGE (Control, Avoid, Get rid of, Eliminate) when it comes to feelings and training yourself to stop trying to shut down real pain -scanning and labelling feelings -the power of urge surfing -accessing your own wisdom There are tried-and-true techniques here, but many more fresh ways to consider the problem of stress. And every one of them is real-world: this book acknowledges that we all have responsibilities, that our time likely isn't our own, and that the goal is to reduce stress rather than eliminate it altogether. Dr. Akbar's wise and experienced voice in this short and calming book will make readers relax into her content.
Stress in the Modern World: understanding science and society by
An engaging exploration of the scientific theories and medical conditions relating to stress and an examination of case studies that suggest ways to manage, reduce, and prevent stress in everyday life. Tension and anxiety are normal aspects of modern life, but ineffective stress management can lead to stress disorders, psychological distress, and physical ailments. An ideal resource for students researching the impact of stress on both physical and psychological health, this comprehensive two-volume set addresses scientific theories about stress, describes common symptoms and effects, identifies various sources of stress, explains how to identify and assess stress levels, and shares effective coping skills as well as strategies for preventing, managing, and reducing stress. More than two dozen contributors share their combined expertise, covering topics such as cognitive and behavioral theories and explanations of stress, the physical symptoms and effects of being subjected to stress, factors involving lifestyle and parenting styles, effective and ineffective coping methods, and finding support in mitigating stress. The set also supplies 20 personal accounts of stress, offers sidebars throughout its pages that present additional information about interesting related topics, and presents primary sources and statistics to encourage students to use their research and critical thinking skills. Examines the impact of stress on both physical and psychological health and from both theoretical and practical perspectives Provides broad, detailed coverage that explains what stress is, the effects of stress, and effective--and ineffective--methods of coping with or reducing stress Includes personal accounts from individuals who explain how a specific coping strategy worked for them, thereby providing suggestions of how readers may be able to improve the quality of their own lives
Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers: Acclaimed guide to stress, stress-related diseases, and coping by
Renowned primatologist Robert Sapolsky offers a completely revised and updated edition of his most popular work, with over 225,000 copies in print Now in a third edition, Robert M. Sapolsky's acclaimed and successful Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers features new chapters on how stress affects sleep and addiction, as well as new insights into anxiety and personality disorder and the impact of spirituality on managing stress. As Sapolsky explains, most of us do not lie awake at night worrying about whether we have leprosy or malaria. Instead, the diseases we fear-and the ones that plague us now-are illnesses brought on by the slow accumulation of damage, such as heart disease and cancer. When we worry or experience stress, our body turns on the same physiological responses that an animal's does, but we do not resolve conflict in the same way-through fighting or fleeing. Over time, this activation of a stress response makes us literally sick. Combining cutting-edge research with a healthy dose of good humor and practical advice, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including depression, ulcers, colitis, heart disease, and more. It also provides essential guidance to controlling our stress responses. This new edition promises to be the most comprehensive and engaging one yet.
Access a variety of electronic books available for instant reading or download at the chapter level, offering valuable resources on mental health and wellness. Find more eBooks using OneSearch on the library homepage. On the result page, limit to eBooks under Source Types in the left column.
Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction by
Learn the comprehensive skills and practices necessary to deliver the MBSR program confidently! Developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn and first introduced in a hospital setting, mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR) is an evidence-based modality that has been shown to help alleviate a wide range of physical and mental health issues--such as anxiety, depression, trauma, chronic pain, stress, and more. This comprehensive learning manual for professionals provides everything you need to practice and teach MBSR. Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction is a timely book that focuses on structure and flexibility when delivering this seminal program. Whether you work in health care, the mental health field, social work, or education, this manual offers clear direction and a sound framework for practicing MBSR in any setting. You'll gain an understanding of the underlying principles of mindfulness, learn to establish your own personal practice, and discover how you can embody that practice. You'll also find tips to help you guide meditations, engage in inquiry, and to convey the content of the program to others. If you're looking for a clear protocol and curriculum for delivering MBSR, this book has everything you need to get started today.
Mindfulness for Student Athletes by
Stay in the moment, stay in the game! With this fun and engaging workbook for young athletes, you'll find practical ways to cope with stress and improve your performance, no matter what sport you play. If you're like many other high school or college students, you probably feel pressure to perform at a high level--both in the classroom and on the field. Unfortunately, this pressure can cause lots of stress and anxiety. To make matters worse, you may find it difficult to effectively manage all of these demands on your time, energy, and health. This is where mindfulness can help. Mindfulness allows you to stay present, focus, and be calm with your thoughts and emotions, no matter how stressful life gets. In Mindfulness for Student Athletes, you'll find practical and tactical ways to cope with stress and anxiety in the moment, prevent stress in the future, and experience more satisfaction and enjoyment while playing sports. You'll also find proven-effective tools to naturally enhance your performance. The mindfulness skills outlined in this workbook will not only help you on the field--but in life as well. You'll be able to take what you've learned and apply it to any situation, from job interviews to scoring a touchdown. What a gift to have!
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens by
Today's teens are totally stressed. Based on the self-help classic, The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, this evidence-based guide will help you develop a game plan for reducing stress so you can focus on reaching your goals. Are you feeling stressed out? You aren't alone. Between school, tests, friendships, dating, the latest drama on social media, college applications, and a bunch of confusing physical changes, it's no wonder that stress is a major mental health issue for many of today's teens. The good news is that there are simple ways you can reduce your stress and reach your goals. This workbook will show you how. With The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens, you'll learn to understand the underlying causes of your stress. You'll discover practical mindfulness and breathing techniques to help you calm your mind and body in moments of worry and anxiety. You'll also find tips for moving past "what ifs" and "shoulds," strategies for managing negative thoughts and emotions, and tools to help you develop your own personalized plan for dealing with stress. If you're ready to move past stress and worry and start focusing on your bright future, this workbook has everything you need to get started today. Teens need mental health resources more than ever. With over 1.2 million copies sold worldwide, Instant Help Books for teens are engaging, proven-effective, and recommended by therapists.
The Science of Stress Management by
Stress is an inevitable part of everyday life. Sometimes we manage it well. Other times, not so much. But understanding the role of stress in our overall health and wellness is essential to taking it head-on. It's not just that stress can take over our thoughts; it can take over our bodies. From the flight or fight response to inflammation, from feeling anxious to feeling sick, it can deteriorate our bodies and our minds from the inside out. While many books promise tips on managing stress, this book takes it one step further to consider the science behind stress and how it affects our minds and bodies, offering evidence-based approaches to managing stress for optimum results. Amitava Dasgupta guides readers to a greater understanding of the mechanisms at work when stress is present and provides guidance for dealing with those physical and mental responses. While grounded in the science of stress, this work also helps readers employ those strategies that will best manage stress for better overall health.
Stress Management for Dummies by
Tired of letting stress have a negative impact on your life? Easy. It's impossible to get through life without encountering stress. And unfortunately, most of us learn the incorrect ways to cope with it. Thankfully, Stress Management For Dummies gives you trusted, time-tested guidance on teaching your body and mind to properly cope with stress while keeping your sanity intact. Whether it's love, work, family, or something else that has you in the red zone, this updated edition of Stress Management For Dummies will help you identify the stress triggers in your life and cut them down to size -- all without losing your cool. Shows you how to use stress in a positive, motivational way instead of letting it negatively affect your life Teaches you to retrain your body and mind to react positively to stress Helps you overcome common stresses faced in modern life If you want to manage stress and get back to living a normal life, Stress Management For Dummies has you covered.
Stress Management Through Mind Engineering by
Experiencing stress in our everyday life is only human. Be it altercations with peers, upcoming deadlines or unnerving life events which can't be controlled. There's good stress that motivates us, and there's stress that's unhealthy; it controls our thoughts and feelings, leading to insomnia, heart diseases and even mental health issues. So how do we stop sweating over small things and start living blissfully? Through mind engineering, we can! Stress Management through Mind Engineering takes the readers through the process of mind engineering to help them create a stressless mind. A mind that can bear the force of the external environment by tapping the power within. Read this book to not only win over stress but also eliminate the risk of burnouts, understand the cause of high stress, reflect on one's actions and behaviour and ultimately live a happier, healthier life.
Access these high-quality resources purchased by the library for academic use. For additional streaming videos, explore our library's collection of databases, which provide access to a wide range of educational and entertainment content across various subjects.
Explore these openly available video resources selected to enrich your understanding and support your mental health journey.
How to make stress your friend | Kelly McGonigal
How to stay calm when you know you'll be stressed | Daniel Levitin
Discover a range of articles from reputable sources that cover current research and practical advice on mental health issues. Find more articles using OneSearch on the library homepage. On the result page, limit to magazine and academic journal articles under Source Types in the left column.
