Sleep - This page features materials on improving sleep quality, including research articles, self-help books, and guided sleep meditations.
Find more books using the Catalog tab on the library homepage.
Hello Sleep: The Science and Art of Overcoming Insomnia without Medications by
A practical and compassionate guide to repairing your relationship with sleep For the twenty-five million Americans who struggle with insomnia, each night feels like a battle with their racing minds instead of a blissful surrender into sleep. Hello Sleep is a guide for the tired but wired people who just want sleep to be easy. Dr. Jade Wu, an internationally recognized behavioral sleep medicine specialist, walks you through the science of how the brain sleeps (or doesn't); shares stories from the clinic of real people's journeys to better sleep; and lays out a step-by-step program for overcoming insomnia and letting go of sleeping pills. Using her years of clinical expertise, she problem-solves your common pitfalls, soothes your anxieties, and tailors recommendations for your special sleep circumstances (e.g., pregnancy, menopause, chronic pain, depression, etc.). Hello Sleep empowers the sleepless with the latest knowledge and most effective tools, allowing them to trust themselves and their own sleep again. It will answer these burning questions and more: * Why can't I fall asleep even though I'm tired? How can I quiet my mind? * What should I do when I wake up at 2:00 A.M. and can't get back to sleep? * Should I nap? What can I do about my fatigue during the day? * How do I get off sleep medications safely and without rebound insomnia?
The Science of Sleep: What It Is, How It Works, and Why It Matters by
We often hear that humans spend one third of their lives sleeping--and most of us would up that fraction if we could. Whether we're curling up for a brief lunchtime catnap, catching a doze on a sunny afternoon, or clocking our solid eight hours at night, sleeping is normally a reliable way to rest our heads and recharge our minds. And our bodies demand it: without sufficient sleep, we experience changes in mood, memory loss, and difficulty concentrating. Symptoms of sleep deprivation can be severe, and we know that sleep is essential for restoring and rejuvenating muscles, tissue, and energy. And yet, although science is making remarkable inroads into the workings and functions of sleep, many aspects still remain a mystery. In The Science of Sleep, sleep expert Wallace B. Mendelson explains the elements of human sleep states and explores the variety of sleep disorders afflicting thousands of people worldwide. Mendelson lays out the various treatments that are available today and provides a helpful guide for one of life's most important activities. By offering the first scientific yet accessible account of sleep science, Mendelson allows readers to assess their personal relationships with sleep and craft their own individual approaches to a comfortable and effective night's rest. Addressing one of the major public health issues of the day with cutting-edge research and empathetic understanding, The Science of Sleep is the definitive illustrated reference guide to sleep science.
The Story of Sleep: From A to Zzzz by
A lively dictionary of topics related to slumber designed to help people help themselves by improving their sleep and, therefore, their health and happiness. The Story of Sleep is a lively annotated dictionary of topics related to slumber, designed to help people help themselves get a better night's rest and improve their overall physical and mental health. Incorporating up-to-date data, each entry reflects the fact that the world-in-general has changed and new sleep technologies have been developed over the past few years. Sleep expert Daniel Barone and writer Lawrence Armour provide the perfect format for those readers who crave a quick and ready reference for achieving better sleep habits and a sounder slumber every night. Building on the success of their book Let's Talk About Sleep, Barone and Armour offer this complementary and essential guide.
The Twenty-Four Hour Mind: The Role of Sleep and Dreaming in Our Emotional Lives by
In January of 1999, an otherwise nonviolent man under great stress at work brutally murdered his wife in their backyard. He then went back to bed, awakening only when police entered his home. He claimed to have no memory of the event because, while his body was awake at the time, his mind wasnot. He had been sleepwalking.In The Twenty-four Hour Mind, sleep scientist Rosalind Cartwright brings together decades of research into the bizarre sleep disorders known as parasomnias to propose a new theory of how the human mind works consistently throughout waking and sleeping hours. Thanks to increasingly sophisticated EEGand brain imaging technologies, we now know that our minds do not simply "turn off" during sleep. Rather, they continue to be active, and research has indicated that one of the primary purposes of sleep is to aid in regulating emotions and processing experiences that occur during preceding wakinghours. As such, when sleep is neurologically or genetically impaired or just too short, the processes that good sleep facilitates - those that usually have a positive effect on our mood and performance - can short circuit, with negative results that occasionally reach tragic proportions. Examiningthe interactions between conscious and unconscious forms of thinking as they proceed throughout the cycles of sleeping, dreaming, and waking, Cartwright demystifies the inner workings of the human mind that trigger sleep problems, how researchers are working to control them, and how they can applywhat they learn to further our understanding of the brain. Along the way, she provides a lively account of the history of sleep research and the birth of sleep medicine that will initiate readers into this fascinating field of inquiry and the far-reaching implications it will have on the future ofneuroscience. The Twenty-four Hour Mind offers a unique look at a relatively new area of study that will be of interest to those with and without sleep problems, as well as anyone captivated by the mysteries of the brain--and what sleep continues to teach us about the waking mind.
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams by
"Why We Sleep is an important and fascinating book...Walker taught me a lot about this basic activity that every person on Earth needs. I suspect his book will do the same for you." --Bill Gates A New York Times bestseller and international sensation, this "stimulating and important book" (Financial Times) is a fascinating dive into the purpose and power of slumber. With two appearances on CBS This Morning and Fresh Air's most popular interview of 2017, Matthew Walker has made abundantly clear that sleep is one of the most important but least understood aspects of our life. Until very recently, science had no answer to the question of why we sleep, or what good it served, or why we suffer such devastating health consequences when it is absent. Compared to the other basic drives in life--eating, drinking, and reproducing--the purpose of sleep remains more elusive. Within the brain, sleep enriches a diversity of functions, including our ability to learn, memorize, and make logical decisions. It recalibrates our emotions, restocks our immune system, fine-tunes our metabolism, and regulates our appetite. Dreaming creates a virtual reality space in which the brain melds past and present knowledge, inspiring creativity. In this "compelling and utterly convincing" (The Sunday Times) book, preeminent neuroscientist and sleep expert Matthew Walker provides a revolutionary exploration of sleep, examining how it affects every aspect of our physical and mental well-being. Charting the most cutting-edge scientific breakthroughs, and marshalling his decades of research and clinical practice, Walker explains how we can harness sleep to improve learning, mood and energy levels, regulate hormones, prevent cancer, Alzheimer's and diabetes, slow the effects of aging, and increase longevity. He also provides actionable steps towards getting a better night's sleep every night. Clear-eyed, fascinating, and accessible, Why We Sleep is a crucial and illuminating book. Written with the precision of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Sherwin Nuland, it is "recommended for night-table reading in the most pragmatic sense" (The New York Times Book Review).
Wild Nights: How Taming Sleep Created Our Restless World by
Why the modern world forgot how to sleep Why is sleep frustrating for so many people? Why do we spend so much time and money managing and medicating it, and training ourselves and our children to do it correctly? In Wild Nights, Benjamin Reiss finds answers in sleep's hidden history -- one that leads to our present, sleep-obsessed society, its tacitly accepted rules, and their troubling consequences. Today we define a good night's sleep very narrowly: eight hours in one shot, sealed off in private bedrooms, children apart from parents. But for most of human history, practically no one slept this way. Tracing sleep's transformation since the dawn of the industrial age, Reiss weaves together insights from literature, social and medical history, and cutting-edge science to show how and why we have tried and failed to tame sleep. In lyrical prose, he leads readers from bedrooms and laboratories to factories and battlefields to Henry David Thoreau's famous cabin at Walden Pond, telling the stories of troubled sleepers, hibernating peasants, sleepwalking preachers, cave-dwelling sleep researchers, slaves who led nighttime uprisings, rebellious workers, spectacularly frazzled parents, and utopian dreamers. We are hardly the first people, Reiss makes clear, to chafe against our modern rules for sleeping. A stirring testament to sleep's diversity, Wild Nights offers a profound reminder that in the vulnerability of slumber we can find our shared humanity. By peeling back the covers of history, Reiss recaptures sleep's mystery and grandeur and offers hope to weary readers: as sleep was transformed once before, so too can it change today.
Find more eBooks using OneSearch on the library homepage. On the result page, limit to eBooks under Source Types in the left column.
How to Sleep: The Art, Biology and Culture of Unconsciousness by
Sleep is quite a popular activity, indeed most humans spend around a third of their lives asleep. However, cultural, political, or aesthetic thought tends to remain concerned with the interpretation and actions of those who are awake. How to Sleep argues instead that sleep is a complex vital phenomena with a dynamic aesthetic and biological consistency. Arguing through examples drawn from contemporary, modern and renaissance art; from literature; film and computational media, and bringing these into relation with the history and findings of sleep science, this book argues for a new interplay between biology and culture. Meditations on sex, exhaustion, drugs, hormones and scientific instruments all play their part in this wide-ranging exposition of sleep as an ecology of interacting processes. How to Sleep builds on the interlocking of theory, experience and experiment so that the text itself is a lively articulation of bodies, organs and the aesthetic systems that interact with them. This book won't enhance your sleeping skills, but will give you something surprising to think about whilst being ostensibly awake.
Sleep Deprivation:Global Prevalence, Dangers and Impacts on Cognitive Performance by
Sleep debt is a characteristic symptom of modern society, a society that provides services without interruption consumption over 24 hours with the help of teams undergo shift work, and encouraging individuals to use these services in unconventional times. Sleep loss can also be caused by neurological, psychiatric and medical disorders. The changes of sleep and wakefulness pattern are invariably linked with neurological disorders because of the common brain circuits and neurotransmitter systems that support brain function and regulation of sleep. The negative impact of changes in sleep health include metabolic and vascular outcomes such as hypertension, myocardial infarction, arrhythmias, type 2 diabetes and insulin resistance. In mood, sleep impacts the emotional regulation, being co-morbid with depression and anxiety. The relationship of sleep with depression is bi-directional, as 90% of individuals with depression have sleep loss, and individuals with sleep disorders have depressive symptoms. This book provides new research on the prevalence, dangers and impacts on cognitive performance of sleep deprivation.
Sleeplessness: Assessing Sleep Need in Society Today by
This book critically evaluates the popular notion that today's society is suffering from 'sleep debt', or what Horne calls 'societal insomnia' - an apparent chronic loss of sleep, which can lead to obesity and related physical and mental disorders including heart disease. It presents evidence which suggests that sleep debt has not in fact worsened to any marked extent over the last hundred or so years, by looking back at some historical writings on sleeplessness and integrating the findings with, evidence-based research that he has undertaken over the last decade. Written in a concise and understandable way, and interwoven with real-world insights, the book will be useful to academic and students of cognitive, critical and social psychology, neuroscience and sociology, as well as anyone who is interested in the social and psychological implications of sleep and sleeplessness.
Discover a range of articles from reputable sources that cover current research and practical advice on mental health issues. Find more articles using OneSearch on the library homepage. On the result page, limit to magazine and academic journal articles under Source Types in the left column.
