Crisis - This page features immediate support resources for individuals experiencing a mental health crisis, including hotlines and emergency services, as well as educational materials and guides to help navigate challenging situations and develop coping strategies.
Suicide & Crisis Lifeline
Free and confidential support for people in distress, prevention and crisis resources for you or your loved ones, and best practices for professionals in the United States.
Text or Call: 988 | 988lifeline.org
Crisis Text Line
Text: HOME to 741-741
NAMI HelpLine | Monday - Friday, 7am-7pm
HelpLine volunteers are working to answer questions, offer support and provide practical next steps.
Call: 1-800-950-6264
Text: 62640
Chat: nami.org/help
Email: helpline@nami.org
The Trevor Project
Supporting LGBTQ+ young people during times of crisis by providing access to crisis counselors 24/7, 365 days a year.
Call:1-866-488-7386
Text: START to 678-678
Crisis Chat: thetrevorproject.org/get-help
Explore a carefully selected collection of print books that provides in-depth insights and comprehensive information on mental health topics. Find more books using the Catalog tab on the library homepage.
Crisis Intervention: A Handbook of Immediate Person-to-Person Help by
In this exceptional new sixth edition, the author has retained the practical framework for offering immediate problem-solving assistance to persons in crisis. Therefore, the goal of this updated and expanded edition is to provide knowledge and methods applicable to particular crisis circumstances. Specific topics include: core concepts that are fundamental to all intervention efforts, crisis theory and the philosophy of crisis intervention, basic communication and problem-solving skills, suicide prevention, assistance for terminally ill persons, bereavement counseling, intervention with crime victims, rape counseling, negotiating with armed perpetrators, group strategies, family and marital interventions, disaster relief, case management, physical facilities, modes of contact, community relations, selection, training, and burnout prevention procedures. The handbook also details a review of the research on crisis intervention and how individual intervenors can build upon that knowledge. Numerous case examples presented in the handbook (with fictitious names) are based on actual occurrences the author has encountered. The techniques in this book are applicable to crisis centers, hotlines, Internet-based services, victim-assistance programs, college counseling centers, hospitals, schools, correctional facilities, children and youth programs, and other human service settings. The Study Questions at the end of each chapter are designed to serve as useful applications of crisis intervention theories and principles. Intended for caregivers whose work involves crisis intervention efforts, this is an informative resource for counselors, social workers, psychologists, nurses, physicians, clergy, correctional officers, parole and probation officers, and lay volunteers.
Crisis: How to Help Yourself and Others in Distress or Danger by
Unlike books focusing on a single crisis topic, Crisis helps recognize common signs of endangerment across a range of life challenges by showing the interconnections between various harmful events. Through media coverage of school shootings, suicides, domestic abuse, workplace violence, andmore, we've become accustomed to hearing about violence and trauma - almost invariably followed by reports that show all of the warning signs that were missed. While it is impossible to predict when, where, and with whom a crisis will occur, we do have the means to be better equipped to intervene instressful situations before they tip over into a crisis.Important preventative information is readily available, and this book better prepares us to take appropriate responsive action. Often a crisis is the result of a critical life event; whether or not a life-changing event turns into a crisis depends on the type, timing, and interpretation of theevent, the person's life cycle development phase, history of healthy coping, and available timely support. In sum, Lee Ann Hoff illustrates how to recognize crisis as both danger and opportunity. The more we know about how to spot a potential crisis and what to do, the more likely distressed personswill get the help they need.
The Psychosis Response Guide: How to Help Young People in Psychiatric Crises by
"This book attempts to demystify how young people experience a psychiatric crisis and what steps others can take to stabilize the situation and provide necessary support. Iati and Waford explain mental illness in a way that is easy to comprehend and adaptable to many situations. The book provides step-by-step guidelines for recognizing the symptoms and warning signs of a psychiatric crisis and determining when an individual should seek professional help. Detailed examples and vignettes give a real-life perspective to those seeking to support those living with psychosis."--Jillian M. Blueford, The Professional Counselor '"Approaching the issue of psychosis from a staged, public health approach has momentum nationally. How to understand and intervene in the early stages is a compelling challenge. This book is a comprehensive, readable resource for teachers, physicians, and others to help them understand this important issue.'" 'Ken Duckworth, MD, Medical Director, National Alliance on Mental Illness In recent years, there has been increasing attention given to young people with emerging psychotic illness, both in media coverage of current events aswell as in policies and movements toward providing specialized services to this vulnerable population. This concise, accessible guide for helpingprofessionals without training in psychosis intervention is a quick reference for identifying and intervening with a person experiencing a first psychoticepisode. It guides helping professionals in how to identify a possible psychotic episode, how to interact compassionately and effectively with theindividual, and how to make appropriate referrals toward proper treatment. Free of jargon and unfamiliar medical terminology, this how-to resource offers clear guidelines for detecting possible psychosis, advice on how to provideimmediate care for the at-risk individual, and specific actions to take depending on the severity of the crisis. With a focus on adolescents and young adults' the most ' at-risk' population for initial psychotic episodes' the book offers quick-access information for a wide range of professionals ineducational and community health settings, including school personnel, counselors, social workers, law enforcement professionals, and primary careproviders. Also included is a brief review of research supporting early intervention strategies. This guide is valuable as a reference for immediate accessto information or can be read from start to finish to increase knowledge and preparedness for a variety of situations. Key Features: Addresses a critical need for early identification of young people who are experiencing a first psychotic episode and describes how to help them Presents information clearly, succinctly, and accessibly for nonspecialists Stresses the need to make appropriate referrals to qualified individuals Written for a wide range of helping and other professionals in educational and community settings Authored by clinicians highly experienced in working with individuals with psychosis
Discover a range of articles from reputable sources that cover current research and practical advice on mental health issues. Find more articles using OneSearch on the library homepage. On the result page, limit to magazine and academic journal articles under Source Types in the left column.
What To Do When Someone Is Having a Mental Health Crisis
